Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Great flavor, but more of a cobbler consistency (excess liquid). This needs a binder. I did use the lattice top, so there was plenty of time for excess moisture to escape, but still too runny. I think next time I will add just a little cornstarch to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mineola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
i would give this 10 stars if i could. This recipe is a no brainer. i have made it sooo many times, and it only failed me once when i forgot the caramel sauce on the stove. it burned (duh), but the apple pie STILL didnt taste so bad. i have left the pie in the oven too long a few times, but its kind a hard to burn. i have made it for so many different occasions, and have been asked for the recipe almost every time. in a girl scouts baking competition once, it got 11/10 and we won, and blv it or not, the judge didnt like Apple pie. i REALLY recommend this to any and every one (who has the patience to cut and peel apples) who likes apple pie. my whole family used to like apple pie and we used to get it sometimes from the local grocery store, but since i made this (when i was 12-that was the first time) other apple pies taste pretty bland. MAKE THIS> YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChEfInTrAiNiNg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This recipe clearly depicts the Secret ART of Chef Johns cooking tecniques. My pie was drizzlicious. I would not be the Chef I am today without Chef Johns Secret Art of Cooking. Thanks You So Much Chef John. Another Award Winning Technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Chef John is usually awesome but this recipe is soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This recipe is basically no fail! I've tried so many Apple pie recipes even from some top rated pie shops and I must say everytime I've made this it comes out fantastic! I do a couple of things different and I've even done this with a crumble topping DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TnVolsFan
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
So tasty. My only problem was the pie crust just under the rim of pie was really stuck to the pan. Curious if anyone knows why that might have happened? Didn't crimp tight enoughmaybe? I still gave 5 stars because of its delicious flavor. In my experience it isn't a pie that is going to cut and plate like something from a magazine but the flavor is so good no one is going to care! Before cutting it was beautiful. I didn't have gala apples, used a michigan variety and I did toss apples in two tablespoons of flour like Chef John mentioned. Yum. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TnVolsFan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Best apple pie ever and I never liked apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Just popped in the oven, and forgot to read reviews. So far it's baking like a charm. The syrup was a little warm, so I hope that's going to remedy itself. I did add at least 2 tsp. of cinnamon as hubby always asks for more cinnamon. So far, I think this is going to be my go-to apple pie. Next time I'll brush top crust with egg and sugar per one's advise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Fantastic apple pie! Be careful to pour the glaze slowly so that it doesn't spill over the sides of the pan. Also, be sure to cover all of the lattice crust with glaze. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Tasty, easy, goes quick once you have the dough. I used honey crisp apples. Think I might make a little extra filling sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States