Chef John's Buttermilk Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
The best fried chicken you'll ever eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Doubled the spicing in the flour mixture for dredging out of personal preference. Makes a great-looking, fabulous-tasting fried chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Thought this was below average in flavor and not traditional enough for me. I think the sage was overpowering - took away from the other seasonings. I doubled the seasonings in the batter and there was still no punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I made this recipe but couldn't taste any of the spices. It was tender and juicy but on the dark brown side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
We liked this. The seasonings used were perfect. The chicken came out moist and tender. It was even better cold the next day for lunch. I will happily make this again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Took this fried chicken to a family 4th of July camping trip. Cooked up a huge bath of thighs and legs. Cooked in peanut oil made a big difference I believe, and adjusted the spices for the amount of chicken I had. When the grandkid's saw the big bowl of fried chicken they asked, " Who brought the Kentucky Fried Chicken" lol. Gone in a few hours, Granddaughter requesting I make for her birthday. I'd say a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
It came out tender but the lack of flavor was NOT worth it. Next time I'll skip buttermilk fried chicken and do a brine instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This is excellent. The only thing I did differently was baking the chicken to lower calories. Thanks Chef John for yet another winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Juicy chicken, crispy crust, fantastic taste! ALMOST better than granny's fried chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This is the first time I have made fried chicken. I even bought a whole chicken and cut it myself. My husband said this is the best fried chicken he's ever had. I did not deep fry (oil is expensive) but fried in frying pan. Thank you Chef!! for making me look like a pro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States