Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This is a great recipe! I did not change any of the ingredients, but in the directions I put the flour and ice cold butter into a foodprocessor and blized it together for about 30 seconds- (Much easier than cutting it in) Then I continued as directed. The biscuts still came out light and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
OMG! These biscuits are incredible! They're so "deceptively" easy to make and they come out light, moist, and fluffy. Plus they rise nice and high -what more could you want from a buttermilk biscuit! I baked these on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and brushed the tops with melted butter during the last five minutes of baking...WOW what a great biscuit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I use a "vegetable peeler" to grate an entire stick of butter. It works great! So quick and so much easier! Toss those long thin flakes of butter with the dry ingredients to keep them from sticking back together. The best buttermilk biscuits I've made since I began my quest for the perfect biscuit. I love the folding technique that left the biscuits with the perfect consistency not to mention flaky. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Nelson Reinert

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This has become a weekend staple at our home. AMAZING BISCUITS!! I finally figured out how to freeze the un-cooked biscuits so now I always have them on hand, but only have to make them once a week. FYI if you're interested... make the recipe as is, except don't brush them with the butter milk. Instead put all the un-cook biscuits on a cookie sheet with parchment paper on the tray. Cover well with plastic wrap and put in the freezer. Once frozen solid, put into a zip bag and leave in the freezer. When you want to eat them you can have as many or as few as you need Pre-heat the oven to 475F and put frozen biscuits on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet; brush with buttermilk. Put in the oven for 7 minutes, then without opening the oven turn the oven off and leave the biscuits in for 5 more or until lightly browned (don't open the door during this phase until the 5 min. are up). add 1 min at a time until lightly browned. Remove and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Thanks for the recipe and the video. We love them. I freeze the extra UNCOOKED BISCUITS for a quick eat in the future. Bake them from the frozen state in the preheated oven at 450 for 8 minutes. Don't open the door for another 8 minutes. From freezer to plate = 16 minutes. Plus, I notice no difference in taste or quality to the freshly made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
These biscuits were superb! They rose beautifully, they had a wonderful creamy texture, and they tasted great! Definitely will make these again. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Yum! I always make drop biscuits because of ease and convenience but am glad I took the plunge with cut outs! These are easy and delicious! You can't go wrong with Chef John's recipes! p.s. I make sour milk instead of using buttermilk: 2T lemon juice and milk to make 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Excellent Biscuits! Have made them a couple of times, once following the recipe to the letter. The 2nd time I made them I was a bit short on butter, so I substituted some sour cream in place of half the butter. They turned out delicious, light and fluffy as well! Can't go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The perfect biscuit recipe! Only change I made was just to use the whole butter stick. The method he uses to work the dough is brilliant. You are not in danger of over working the dough, as that is what makes a dense biscuit, by using the fold and press method. I have made these several times and the taste is wonderful. They bake up light and fluffy. Two important tips that I have learned in making the perfect biscuit. 1) use an up and down motion with your biscuit cutter or glass(whichever you use to cut your biscuits). Using a twisting motion causes the edges to seal and you will not get a good rise. 2) when placing the cut biscuit dough on your baking sheet, place them so they touch one another. This also helps reach a wonderful rise as they bake. I have deemed this the definitive biscuit recipe and my search has ended here. As a matter of fact, I'm making these in the morning since the kids, yet again, have another snow day. And as always... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfrk01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This is one of the best buttermilk recipes on this site. I sometimes, after cutting in the butter, put it back in the fridge for about 30 mins. because the colder the better. Other than that they are perfect.........you can also add a few teaspoons of sugar and then you have a dessert biscuit. Substituting soured milk is not as good so worth investing in real buttermilk. Thanks for printing this and highly recommend. I am an award winning baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States