Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent biscuits came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I make this recipe all the time! The family loves these biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LibertyBelle78
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
You can't go wrong when you follow Chef John's instructions. I never would have believed I would be making things like buttermilk biscuits and pie crust from scratch, but it's all happening. I have made these and Chef John's cream biscuits, and my Southern husband liked them equally. They smell heavenly and look impressive. Thank you for another winning recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used 100% all natural white whole wheat flour instead of all purpose flour and homemade cultured buttermilk. These biscuits were soft and moist and my family of 7 loved them! Will add this to my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
They were very good and attractive... But only after using 50% more liquid than was called for. Before that, it wouldn't have even made a pie dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woozle Doede

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This was my first time making this. Very easy to follow recipe and fail safe. The family loved it. This will be added to the list of "can do's".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Me and my grandma made these.... If you double the ingredients you get more fluffier and crispier biscuits. And you don't need partchment paper go to a flat surface and put some flour..(This way you can't get enough THANKS!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Another excellent recipe from Chef John. I followed the directions except for cutting with a biscuit cutter, I used my food processor and pulsed about 10 times. I rolled it out and just cut into 12 rectangles, no waste, no re-rolling. 15 minutes was perfect and they were crunchy on the outside, flaky goodness on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Oh My Goodnesss OHHHHHH MYYYYYY GOODNESSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!! My husband and I made these this morning! We only had a huge block of butter and we guestamated on the 7 tbs ;-) ...we used a cheese grater which worked perfectly to grate our frozen butter..a little extra buttermilk.....preheated the oven along with our iron skillet...and these turned out perfectly...and sooo golden and crispy on the bottem...HEAVEN in a biscuit!!! THANK YOU for sharing your recipe with the rest of us, Chef John!!! Love Love Love!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyinTennessee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Yummy, much like a grands biscuit.. (and pretty easy too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States