Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
these came out perfect! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemygirls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I had to make this twice to get it right. The first time the dough was too dry. The second time I increased the amount of buttermilk to 1 cup. Also, on the second try, instead of cutting up the butter, I used a cheese grater and grated the cold butter into the dry ingredients. If you use this method, be sure to coat the butter shreds with the dry ingredients so they don't clump together. Second try was much better! I still need more practice, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Whipped up a double batch of these beautiful buttermilk biscuits. Chef John, you never let me down. I watched the video to make sure I had a handle on the technique. My husband and daughter loved them; my grandfather proclaimed that surely the way to a man's heart is paved with these biscuits. The only change I made was to instead of cutting rounds and handling the dough that much more I used a pizza cutter to slice equal sized squares. Who says biscuits have to be round?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Well, ICE COLD is certainly the secret! After years of tasty but rather flat biscuits, my family -and I- was pleasantly surprised by the lightness of these babies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
made these just now "yummy" i added 1teaspoon of sugar and used a boxer grater for the butter cooked them a cast iron skillet came out great :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I have never made biscuits before and gave this recipe a try: beautiful rise and really light and fluffy! The video really helped me to understand technique. Great big Merci beaucoup to Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xavier Dumont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Great recipe! I've made it to the letter and variations with cheese and garlic (add an extra two Tbsp of milk and a cup of shredded cheese and garlic to taste) and it always comes out flaky and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hankins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
the biscuits were great......i would cut the salt in half.....other than that... they were tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetdee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Good for quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States