Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
The best I've ever made, at least ... I was obliged to add a bit more buttermilk at the combining stage (step 5), as I didn't quite have "dough" yet. They came out tender, flaky, nice flavor, and I scored some points with the wife -- always a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James 1588

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
These never turn out well for us for some reason
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alan Smith
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I've made this twice now and it's definitely the best biscuit recipe I've tried. Very flaky. I like to dress mine up with thick sliced peppered ham and aged white cheddar with just a stone ground mustard. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Followed recipe exactly (video is helpful). Rose beautifully; tasted great; quick to make. Tips: don't overcook. In my oven, at least, 15 minutes is too long, especially if you space the biscuits an inch or more apart. If they are touching in the pan they will be softer. Also, if you keep unsalted butter in the freezer all the time it will last virtually forever and be ready for any baking activity that requires super cold butter like this one. Finally, as another reviewer said, cutting the butter into the flour is much easier with a food processor. Process for about 20 seconds. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GeeQTmom
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Words won't do justice to how delicious these biscuits are! They are awesome! Look no further! You have found THE biscuit recipe! As I was making them, I was thinking that they were a bit more involved than the last (disappointing) recipe I had tried. The folding and re-rolling was new; so, maybe... They looked the same rolled out and cut and I was skeptical about the buttermilk wash. And then they started to bake...Oh, my goodness! They smelled wonderful, rose beautifully and I was amazed at how delicious they were! Chef John, thank you for sharing! I've already searched for more of your recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great recipe!!!!!!!!!! Followed it exactly and they turned out delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loripayawal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
These were great! I grated the butter onto a wax paper lined cookie sheet THEN froze it...very easy and freezes quickly. I also patted the dough out instead of rolling, then cut into squares. This was easier than dealing with the leftover scraps from cutting into circles and gave them a nice, rustic look. They have a very buttery flavor, so they were a nice alternative to my usual biscuits made with shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Excellent recipe. After trying several different ones, I've settled on this as my "go to" recipe. I don't use parchment or brush with buttermilk before baking. Just oil the pan, dip the cut biscuits in the oil and turn over (for a tender top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I love this recipe!!! Ive used it several times and tried different stuff with it each time and it always turns out great! Flavor is wonderful too, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Good biscuits, good flavor and texture! Mine were a little flat, maybe I over mixed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States