Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My daughter won 2nd place in the 4-H contest and my whole family loved them all we did was add a splash more of butter milk and the whole stick of butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Wanna know how easy these are to make? I'll tell you! I'm not a chef by any stretch of the imagination, but my wife always puts me to work making these little beauties while she makes the sausage gravy to put on top of them. They come out so well, my mother-in-law who is a great cook tried them and gave me huge compliments and asked me to show her this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
The flavor and texture of these biscuits are outstanding. They are wonderfully flaky. The buttermilk biscuits I've been baking for over 50 years are pretty fabulous, but these are better. Real buttermilk makes a difference here. This recipe can easily be halved if you have a small family, yielding four big, fluffy biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I served with tuna spread in halves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariovidana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The perfect biscuit recipe! Only change I made was just to use the whole butter stick. The method he uses to work the dough is brilliant. You are not in danger of over working the dough, as that is what makes a dense biscuit, by using the fold and press method. I have made these several times and the taste is wonderful. They bake up light and fluffy. Two important tips that I have learned in making the perfect biscuit. 1) use an up and down motion with your biscuit cutter or glass(whichever you use to cut your biscuits). Using a twisting motion causes the edges to seal and you will not get a good rise. 2) when placing the cut biscuit dough on your baking sheet, place them so they touch one another. This also helps reach a wonderful rise as they bake. I have deemed this the definitive biscuit recipe and my search has ended here. As a matter of fact, I'm making these in the morning since the kids, yet again, have another snow day. And as always... Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcfrk01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Best ever recipe! I always keep a stick of butter in the freezer just to make these. I grate the butter into the flour and toss. Perfect every time. (It's one stick minus one tablespoon)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Cleary
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent! Used a microplane grater placed over the bowl of flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt to grate the chilled butter and mixed in with fork while grating. Cut into squares instead of rounds, as the dough was already in a rectangle. Did not brush the tops, as my hands were moist with placing the biscuits on the silpat. These were just right - crispy on the outside and soft and wonderful inside. Made 8 biscuits and froze half - hope those hints are good ones! Thanks so much, Chef John. Your recipes can always be counted on to be the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Yes, tried easy recipe. Enjoying my biscuits now with butter and maple syrup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Perfection. We loved these biscuits. They came out perfectly layered and flakey. I tried the vegetable peeler for the butter, like another reviewer suggested. It worked out great. My only tip is when the butter starts to get slippery coat it with some of the flour mixture to help keep your grip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
They would have been perfect except for the fact that you could REALLY taste the baking soda/powder. I followed the recipe to the letter. I blended the flour with the baking soda and powder as the recipe says but these are inedible. I will try to use less baking powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States