Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Love this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I just made this recipe...first time in a LONG time I've made biscuits from scratch. I wanted to teach my neighbor's daughters about biscuit-making and, while ordinarily I don't take such a risk as to cook for other people with a recipe I've never tried, Chef John's recipes have never let me down. This one was no exception. My biscuits turned out very light and flaky, rose up nice and tall with a perfectly browned and slightly "crispy" crown, and had the perfect flavour of butteryness and NOT the overpowering taste of baking soda that is often present in scratch biscuits made from inferior recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spike Page
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Perfect, and this was my first batch of from-scratch biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I loved these biscuits! I added herbs de provence to my first batch and cheese and herbs to the second. These biscuits turned out very nice and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
These were the best biscuits I have ever made. Light, flaky. Wonderful. I used dry buttermilk and they turned out great. I also took the advise of one review and mixed the flour and butter in the food processor and that worked great. i will be making these again real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I had to add more buttermilk but then I live in a very dry climate. They turned out yummy and no need for extra butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
OK, I'm a pretty good cook and baker but I have never been able to make a decent biscuit. That changed tonight. I followed this recipe and Chef John's technique. They are so good. I did use very cold butter flavored shortening which I added in small pieces like the slices of butter. Wish I had read the reviews about freezing the extra UNCOOKED biscuits but these will be good for breakfast. Patisht
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
These are easy to make and oh so good. Our go-to recipe for weekends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This recipe was awesome if you follow it I unfortunately did not. I did however make one correctly and it was great, as for the others I rolled the dough to thin and they had good flavor but were not great. So my suggestion is dbl the dough because if your gonna make a flour mess you may as well get enough dough for a cpl meals and freeze the unused uncooked biscuits between wax paper in a freezer bag and error on the side of caution and stop rolling a few rolls before you think you should stop no one has ever turned their nose up at a tall flaky biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States