Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Perfect biscuits! We loved , loved them !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
These biscuits are just like how my momma used to make!Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I kinda messed them up by pulling them out of the oven 5 minutes in to do the dimple and brush the buttermilk (I'd forgot). Up until that point they were rising good but did not rise anymore from there. They were a bit flat, not fluffy because of this but no less crumbly or good. I wish I had left them alone but you live and you learn. The flavor was still great so I give them 5 stars despite my mistake, I have no doubt it would have been amazing when done right and I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alina Kravchenko (MISSalina)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
they rose beautifully and came out fluffy and golden which was great, BUT the flavor wasnt very good. i think it needed more salt maybe. honestly it might be my fault entirely by using reduced fat buttermilk. i will try this recipe again with regular buttermilk, a tad bit more salt or salted butter and i will be sure to re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
These are very good! Simple to make and very tasty. I used a food processor to combine the dry ingredients and the butter......worked great! The only problem was I should have made more, they were gone in a flash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Tender, flaky, layered bisc. I grate my butter in with a cheesegrater for all of my doughs. Works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nessa TupTup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I made these exactly like the recipe. The only mess up is I rolled them out too thin. They did not rise that high, but they were very tasty. I did not work the dough very hard either when I rolled it. The recipe was very easy, the aroma is wonderful, I liked the slight crispness of the outer biscuit. As far as the inner texture and fluffiness I messed that up, and was not fluffy enough for a good answer. I know I will master this biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Tried this recipe this morning and used the food processor like one reviewer suggested. Put the biscuits right next to each other as another reviewed suggested, and they rose beautifully. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The first biscuit recipe I have been really successful with. So excited to finally find the perfect recipe. We did use all fresh ingredients just purchased (unbleached all purpose flour, baking powder and soda). Now I can offically call myself a cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Light and fluffy !! I grated frozen butter so no need to blend just stirred. Also used whole wheat flour just for fun. Enjoying now with maple syrup and a hot cup of coffee. Oh so delicious on a cold Canadian morning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I made this today. Was very careful to not over manipulate the dough. It was flaky, however I thought it would be fluffier and raise more. I thought it tasted doughy. Thought it would be tastier, more of something I can't put my finger on, more salt? Not sure... I followed the recipe exactly. With the exception of cutting them into rounds. My husband loved them. They cooked up nicely. Took a photo but couldn't upload it!!!???? Don't know why!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States