Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Made these as directed, but used my food processor. Put the butter and dry ingredients in the freezer overnight, along with the food processor bowl and blade. Process the butter and dry ingredients just until it resembles slightly wet sand, then drizzle in the buttermilk. To make them more tender (no kneading), I turned the mixture out into a 8x8 baking pan, and used a sharp knife to cut the mixture into 9 equal pieces. The biscuits came out tall and tender, and perfect for the sausage gravy I had made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLYINGA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: La Vista, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was a very nice biscuit. I made my buttermilk with 3/4 cup of milk and tablespoon or so of lemon juice. I also used a stone pan to bake them and the bottom came out perfectly golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe, video and tips. Followed measurements exactly and biscuits had distinct layers of buttery goodness. this was my first attempt at making biscuits from scratch. Thank you Chef John!! No more shortcut canned biscuits for me... ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
My husband has been dying for me to figure out how to make flaky biscuits, and this recipe is the winner. It went together quickly and the biscuits melted in our mouths. This is my new go-to recipe for biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I made these biscuits tonight. Well worth the effort. I agree with Chef John I will get better after making them a few times. Thanks for the recipe and the video tips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hluebner
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Very simple, fast, & easy recipe! The Buttermilk biscuits came out perfectly! I did add a little more buttermilk to the recipe, but only because they came out so very moist when I tried it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
All I can say is that they came out great. My mom would be proud...and jealous that she didn't get one. My only suggestion is to watch the video for sure if you have not made biscuits before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueberry Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I am a horrible biscuit maker! These did not come out perfect, but better than my usual. Like it says in the video, It may take a few times, so I will keep trying since it is a pretty easy recipe. Not bad. I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
As I'm about to become an innkeeper, I've been trying biscuit recipes and variations for months. This is da bomb. Straight up recipe, first time. Boom! Best I ever made. I'll try again tomorrow. Oh, and they reheat in the microwave in about 13 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This recipe makes such pretty, flaky biscuits. They taste great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States