Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
These were too crunchy for me. If I were to ever make them again - which is unlikely - I would roll them thicker, bake them at a lower temperature, and lessen the bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Didn't have to change anything. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by Theresa Rose
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I just tried this recipe very good I used a cheese grater to do the butter it worked great nice rise on the biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Excellent. I read the reviews and grated the butter with a peeler. I mixed everything in my kitchenaid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
I tried a few different recipes and they were so-so. I decided to try these and they were awesome! my family would not stop complimenting me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
These were wonderful. As someone who has never done a biscuit more complex than a Bisquick drop biscuit, I thought I was being ambitious by trying this homemade biscuit for the first time. I'm pretty experienced in the kitchen but recently trying to expand by doing things like my own pie crusts and now biscuits (things that can be ruined being overworked)...it turned out fantastic! My only word of advice it not to fear your dough being under-worked. Chef John's video is a wonderful guide. I always freeze half my butter when I buy it (Costco) and it works well when doing biscuits (AND pie crusts for that matter). They didn't seem to rise much but I made them pretty small, next time I will double the recipe and roll my dough out thicker. They were pretty flaky and the flavor was absolutely wonderful. I made them for the hubby, and my 10 month old daughter, and when my older kids tried them, they demanded more. Unfortunately we ate them all, haha these will be a hot commodity around my house. (*EDIT: Made them again, and this time I just made 6 large biscuits--I cut the dough with a knife ad just made square biscuits to eliminate having the leftover tough ones--and it was wonderful!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Fregoso

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Amazing!! I found it necessary to knead the dough before I patted it and folded it in thirds. Make sure you follow the recipe to the letter, because all the steps which don't seem needed- such as making an indentation on the biscuits before baking them- really pay off!! I used homemade buttermilk (milk with vinegar added to it) and it worked well. I also would encourage you not to completely omit the salt- that's partly why these biscuits taste so good! I will definitely be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Easy and delicious! I also used a food processor to mix and loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I did as some others, I put the flour mixture and butter in a food processor first, then the buttermilk in there to combine. And then patted together into a rectangle. Instead of cutting into 12 round biscuits, I made 10 square"ish" biscuits. Baked for 16 minutes. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Awesome biscuits and super easy!! Def a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States