Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Great technique of fokding dough like puff pastry! No wonder they're so flaky Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shagump1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
I wanted a basic buttermilk buscuit recipe and this is it. I don't brush the buttermilk on top but that doesn't change the flavor. These are soft, flaking and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Henschell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
These are nice and fluffy biscuits. I make a few minor modifications, primarily due to availability of ingredients where we live. Buttermilk is practically nonexistent in our corner of the globe, so I use whole yogurt without any added sugar in the same proportion. I also add some grated cheese right after I blend in the butter, just to add a bit of character. About the only thing I ever liked at Red Lobster was their biscuits (way back in the day -- never go there anymore) and likes the little bit of cheese flavor they had. I also had some incredible biscuits several years ago at a place called the Blue Plate Cafe in Memphis. They were light, fluffy, and melt-in-your-mouth good. These remind me a great deal of those. I've had numerous requests for them over the years. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DK Hipkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lo Barnechea, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Biscuits from scratch? Ain't nobody got time for that! Oh yes you do!! These biscuits are SUPER yum, flakey, fluffy, crisp and mega easy!! Took nothing to make, and they were done in no time. Thank you Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michelle2465
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Made exactly as written and turned out great!! Made some breakfast sandwiches and everyone was very happy :) will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I only had salted butter so I cut the salt in half. I also grated my frozen butter into the flour stirring a few times to mix it in and keep it from sticking together. By the time I was done grating the butter, I only had to stir it one last time before adding the buttermilk. So quick and easy. These were light, flaky, and not dry at all even though I over cooked them a bit. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by synthyarose
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Great recipe! I just made these this morning. I didn't change anything except as you can see the shape. I didn't have a round cutter so I used a knife and just cut square shapes. The extra dough became my big biscuit. I used my Ninja blender to cut the dough into the flour. I was worried that it wouldn't do well but because the butter was frozen it came out perfect. I just did really quick pulse. I mixed the buttermilk in the bowl with the flour mixture. Flaky on the inside and just a little crunch on the outside Delicious. I will definitely make again and also recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Evelyn Greenwood
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Great recipe!! I didn't have any buttermilk so I took 1/2 cup of whole milk, added 1/2 TBSP lemon juice, and microwaved it for 30 seconds. Wonderful subsitute!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Very good. I thought the biscuit might be to thin but they puffed up beautifully. Kept the leftovers for 24 hours and still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I love making biscuits from scratch now! I bake at 450 in a cast iron skillet, and I use the whole stick of butter ( couldn't leave the last tablespoon by itself!) and they turn out wonderfully! Crispy bottom and fluffy middle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States