Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I made these exactly like the recipe. The only mess up is I rolled them out too thin. They did not rise that high, but they were very tasty. I did not work the dough very hard either when I rolled it. The recipe was very easy, the aroma is wonderful, I liked the slight crispness of the outer biscuit. As far as the inner texture and fluffiness I messed that up, and was not fluffy enough for a good answer. I know I will master this biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Tried this recipe this morning and used the food processor like one reviewer suggested. Put the biscuits right next to each other as another reviewed suggested, and they rose beautifully. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The first biscuit recipe I have been really successful with. So excited to finally find the perfect recipe. We did use all fresh ingredients just purchased (unbleached all purpose flour, baking powder and soda). Now I can offically call myself a cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Light and fluffy !! I grated frozen butter so no need to blend just stirred. Also used whole wheat flour just for fun. Enjoying now with maple syrup and a hot cup of coffee. Oh so delicious on a cold Canadian morning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I made this today. Was very careful to not over manipulate the dough. It was flaky, however I thought it would be fluffier and raise more. I thought it tasted doughy. Thought it would be tastier, more of something I can't put my finger on, more salt? Not sure... I followed the recipe exactly. With the exception of cutting them into rounds. My husband loved them. They cooked up nicely. Took a photo but couldn't upload it!!!???? Don't know why!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I had to try these twice to get a good result. The first time I was too afraid to work the dough and I rolled them too thin. Try two I just worked the dough like I typically do for biscuits and I patted them out to about 3/4" instead of rolling. Much, much better. Maybe next time they'll even be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
These were really good but they don't rise as much as, "Fluffy Biscuits", fyi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I LOVE BISCUITS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Pedersen
Home Town: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Very tasty!! My family loved them with Sausage and Gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
These have great flavor! I brushed too much buttermilk on each one. Other than that, they were perfect. This is my new standard buttermilk biscuit recipe. Thanks for sharing and thanks for the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States