Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Turn out great! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Philpot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
These just didn't work for me. The flavor was great, and the aroma while they were baking was spot on, but these were the flattest biscuits I have ever made! I think my issue was 3/4 cups of buttermilk was not enough, my dough was dry and I think missing the necessary moisture to make the biscuits get nice and fluffy. My normal recipe is pretty much exactly the same except it calls for 1 full cup of buttermilk which gives me a very wet and sticky dough. Also this recipe did not yield 12 1/2 inch biscuits before baking. I would have needed to double this recipe because I yielded 12 1/4 inch dough rounds.. I normally yield 6-8 1/2 inch dough rounds with pretty much the same recipe except 1 full cup of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kobe Dog

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cara
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe and they came out decent. Second time I modified a bit. I added 1 1/2 tsp sugar, cut the salt in half and brushed with melted butter instead of buttermilk and came out more savory. Just need to reduce cooking time by maybe a minute or two and voila! These were for strawberry short cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Never been much of a baker, but these make it easy to look good in my families eyes. I mix it up sometimes with garlic and shredded cheese. Gonna add some herbs in the future for some more depth. The second time I made them I threw away my need for waste and just started cutting them into squares. Now I don't toughen up the dough for a second round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Yummmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John 1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anchen
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Great recipe! I only added small amount of cane sugar to each layer of dough during the rolling, plus some raisin to the last layer - as a result I made delicious cookies! Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe! The biscuits turned out buttery, just a little crunchy in the perfect places, and a perfect breakfast, lunch, snack, or even a perfect biscuit to go with soups or dinner foods! Also, I added two tsp of white sugar to add just a little bit of sweetness, and that was really good. Great recipe overall! For those who say that they turned out hard or not well, I think that it's not the recipes fault. Did you add something that wasn't listed in the recipe? Did you cook them for too long? I would have to say that it's a 99% chance that you did something wrong, not the recipe. Very nice overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Very flaky and buttery. Hoped for a better rise, so maybe I did something wrong. Will try making them again. Not easy to get biscuits just right, is it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States