Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by michelle2465
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Made exactly as written and turned out great!! Made some breakfast sandwiches and everyone was very happy :) will be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I only had salted butter so I cut the salt in half. I also grated my frozen butter into the flour stirring a few times to mix it in and keep it from sticking together. By the time I was done grating the butter, I only had to stir it one last time before adding the buttermilk. So quick and easy. These were light, flaky, and not dry at all even though I over cooked them a bit. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by synthyarose
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Great recipe! I just made these this morning. I didn't change anything except as you can see the shape. I didn't have a round cutter so I used a knife and just cut square shapes. The extra dough became my big biscuit. I used my Ninja blender to cut the dough into the flour. I was worried that it wouldn't do well but because the butter was frozen it came out perfect. I just did really quick pulse. I mixed the buttermilk in the bowl with the flour mixture. Flaky on the inside and just a little crunch on the outside Delicious. I will definitely make again and also recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Evelyn Greenwood
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Great recipe!! I didn't have any buttermilk so I took 1/2 cup of whole milk, added 1/2 TBSP lemon juice, and microwaved it for 30 seconds. Wonderful subsitute!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Very good. I thought the biscuit might be to thin but they puffed up beautifully. Kept the leftovers for 24 hours and still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I love making biscuits from scratch now! I bake at 450 in a cast iron skillet, and I use the whole stick of butter ( couldn't leave the last tablespoon by itself!) and they turn out wonderfully! Crispy bottom and fluffy middle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
If you follow the instructions to the letter, you will be very pleased with flaky and buttery homemade biscuits! They need to be eaten the same day as freshness is very important to the taste. The next day I had a few left over and, while they were good to eat, these buscuits are just plain incredible right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I tried this without any substitutions and dang it's good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Never baked anything in my life and now I'm making biscuits like a boss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
These biscuits were delicious! To make them healthier, I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour, and only 5 Tbs butter. They turned out a little bit dry, but I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States