Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Amazing!! I found it necessary to knead the dough before I patted it and folded it in thirds. Make sure you follow the recipe to the letter, because all the steps which don't seem needed- such as making an indentation on the biscuits before baking them- really pay off!! I used homemade buttermilk (milk with vinegar added to it) and it worked well. I also would encourage you not to completely omit the salt- that's partly why these biscuits taste so good! I will definitely be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Easy and delicious! I also used a food processor to mix and loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I did as some others, I put the flour mixture and butter in a food processor first, then the buttermilk in there to combine. And then patted together into a rectangle. Instead of cutting into 12 round biscuits, I made 10 square"ish" biscuits. Baked for 16 minutes. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Awesome biscuits and super easy!! Def a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I give it a 5 star rating because I made changes and it didn't turn out as expected, so I will remake these and rerate if necessary. I used my food processor and zipped everything up in it. It was fast and easy, but they did not fluff up. They were quite flat and a little dry. But the flavor was excellent. Next time I will mix everything all by hand and see if being gentler with the dough yields a better, fluffier, moister biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Standfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Absolutely as stated...great quick Sunday breakfast recipe,I borrowed the suggestion from Cathy to grate the butter, fantastic idea!..Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jen
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Yum! These are easy to make and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Love these homemade biscuits. The aroma fills the house with love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I love these biscuits and using the food processor makes it so easy. I put my uncooked biscuits in the freezer while my oven preheats to make them extra flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Wray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Amazing! I just don't know how some of the other reviewers had extra biscuits to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri Biggers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States