Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
These were easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYNDEELYNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Looks fantastic, will try for sure! Thanks. However, I wish you included the metric measurements. How many gramms is 7 tbsp of butter? 100g, a little less than half a US cup. If you have doubts, here is the link: http://www.traditionaloven.com/conversions_of_measures/flour_volume_weight.html Gabi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Yummy. I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used sour cream instead. I topped the biscuits with a dab of butter instead of using the buttermilk. The biscuits turned out so moist and flaky. I also baked at 400 degrees. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
amazing, I will never buy pre made again these were delicious!! I made a batch and just threw them in the freezer so I could pop some in the oven for dinner/brunch and they were the best biscuits I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I use milk with vinegar in it instead of buttermilk, but they are awesome. I recommend watching the video as it gives hints that will help your biscuits in general regardless of recipe. Although this recipe is so good you may never want to look for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thismomscool

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I had never made buttermilk biscuits before, the recipe was a lot easier than I thought it would be. My family loved them and my daughter said they tasted like kfc's biscuits.That was a huge compliment, thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is the only recipe I use for buttermilk biscuts. The only thing different I do is I use the method that Chef john uses to make his buttercrust pastry dough. It's easier this way and it always comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Wow! What a great find! I didn't change a thing in the recipe. Sure, my biscuits came out flat and less appealing than the ones featured, but that's entirely my fault since I always seem to make them uneven. Go figure. Despite my kitchen blunders, the biscuits were still light and flaky. They were a big hit with the family too. In fact, they ate them up---literally! Definitely making again (hopefully making it perfect the next go around).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This recipe is very easy, and I loved how flaky the biscuits were. I do have two complaints: 1) although I followed the recipe to a T, the biscuits were starting to darken underneath before getting any color on top. Therefore I was left with a beautifully golden biscuit with a black bottom. 2) I feel the biscuits could have used some sugar or honey for a touch of sweetness. Best biscuit recipe with regards to flakiness and height, but not the best tasting :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this recipe tonight for supper to help fill up all my boys and everyone loved it!! AND - I did as another reviewer suggested when she was short on butter and I only put in 4T. butter (which also made the recipe lighter and a bit healthier, too) and the other 3T were low-fat sour cream. I shaved the butter per suggestion of another reviewer as well and it worked like a charm. It only took a few minutes to cut it all in. Delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States