Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
OMG, these were so good. I thought I had totally messed them up because I wasn't sure if I mixed and folded them too much but they turned out perfect. Wonderful flavor, flaky, easy to make and my entire family gobbled them up! Only thing I did different was to add vinegar to milk since I didn't have any buttermilk on hand and I grated the butter as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Simple, flaky, and delicious. We had to shorten the baking time so as not to burn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
These are a great crowd pleaser! Had friends over tonight and served these with soup. I made a double batch and we ate every single one! Rave reviews from our guests and giving rave reviews here for this fabulous recipe! This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingWithFire
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Great biscuit recipe, since we do not have a pastry slicer I had to hand press the flour mix with the butter slices to form the crumbled dough but all in all the recipe was easy and they tasted better than most restaurants could hope for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Made these this morning with Bill's sausage gravy recipe that is on this site.These were absolutely fantastic! Right on up there with cracker barrel's! This is definitely my go to recipe. Did not change a thing. Not dry at all! Very moist, soft, a bit of flakiness just the way a biscuit should be. I will be making these again with some honey drizzled over them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I had to add an extra splash of milk but the moisture in flour varies so that doesn't mean that everyone will need it. I have made dozens and dozens of biscuits in my life. My mother made heavenly drop biscuits so I frequently do that but I made these to top a chicken and biscuit casserole. They are beautiful! Think I've found my go-to biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet7th

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scotia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Perfect biscuits! We loved , loved them !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
These biscuits are just like how my momma used to make!Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I kinda messed them up by pulling them out of the oven 5 minutes in to do the dimple and brush the buttermilk (I'd forgot). Up until that point they were rising good but did not rise anymore from there. They were a bit flat, not fluffy because of this but no less crumbly or good. I wish I had left them alone but you live and you learn. The flavor was still great so I give them 5 stars despite my mistake, I have no doubt it would have been amazing when done right and I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melicious

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alina Kravchenko (MISSalina)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
they rose beautifully and came out fluffy and golden which was great, BUT the flavor wasnt very good. i think it needed more salt maybe. honestly it might be my fault entirely by using reduced fat buttermilk. i will try this recipe again with regular buttermilk, a tad bit more salt or salted butter and i will be sure to re-review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States