Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Perhaps I overworked the dough, but mine barely rose at all. They tasted fine but they were almost too chewy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Javier Ho
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Delicious and so easy to make, especially with the video instructions. So flaky, fluffy, and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Easier than I thought. Grandson asked if we could have them every week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
These have potential! I really want to rate these 3.5 stars but not quite a 4. I've been looking for the quintessential biscuit recipe but haven't found it. The bottoms of these baked to a thick, hard crust. They weren't burned but just "too done". They had a nice rise and looked pretty! When I asked my esteemed panel of judges (husband and son) we all agreed that they "tasted like the ingredients" as in "not quite baked but had just a bit of a raw taste" even though they were thoroughly baked. They were also lacking a flavor element so I think I will add just a touch of sugar (1 1/2 tsp) next time and see if that helps. I will also bake them on an airbake cookie sheet to insulate the bottoms. I used a Silpat (which I love and highly recommend) but I used a standard rimmed baking sheet fearing butter may leak out all over my oven - I've had that happen with other recipes. Leaking was minimal with these so I think I can use the air insulated sheet. I made the dough cold by mixing the dry with the butter and freezing it for 24 hours. The dough stayed beautifully cold while I worked with it and, I believe, it really helped with the rising. As Martha Stewart says "Make it cold and bake it hot!" I will try this recipe again with a few adjustments and hope my quest will finally end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
...also use White Lily flour. Less Gluten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I made half of the recipe with my 18 month old. I didn't use ice cold butter, but I had some in the fridge. I cut the dough using my hand and a fork since we don't have a food processor, and it still became nice and crumbly. I also brushed with egg wash since I ran out of buttermilk. It was our first time making those and they were simply delicious. We separated them in half and ate them with jam. I found them healthy enough for my daughter to devour. This will become our quick go to recipe for biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
OMG, these were so good. I thought I had totally messed them up because I wasn't sure if I mixed and folded them too much but they turned out perfect. Wonderful flavor, flaky, easy to make and my entire family gobbled them up! Only thing I did different was to add vinegar to milk since I didn't have any buttermilk on hand and I grated the butter as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Simple, flaky, and delicious. We had to shorten the baking time so as not to burn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
These are a great crowd pleaser! Had friends over tonight and served these with soup. I made a double batch and we ate every single one! Rave reviews from our guests and giving rave reviews here for this fabulous recipe! This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookingWithFire
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Great biscuit recipe, since we do not have a pastry slicer I had to hand press the flour mix with the butter slices to form the crumbled dough but all in all the recipe was easy and they tasted better than most restaurants could hope for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Chef John's Popovers

See how to make light and airy popovers with a crispy crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States