Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Perfect as it is! I would suggest reducing the red pepper flakes if you have kids under 5 years old as it might be too hot for them.It is much nicer than store bought breakfast sausage!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
These turned out great. It's been a long time since I made my own sausage but these were way better than store bought. I loved the orange zest. reminded me of a good spring/summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is my favorite sausage recipe. It's really great fresh (I freeze the rest). I've put in a bit of ground sage and orange juice with the zest and that's been a nice addition. But the recipe as above is wonderful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I need to add about a tablespoon of maple syrup to the mix. It's a wonderful home-made sausage patty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
We really liked these and I made them into small patties and they froze well, and are great to pop in a pan on a cool weekend morning. I cut back the salt to about 3/4 of a teaspoon, and kicked up Italian herbs, and it's a very nice flavour...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobTanner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I thought the orange zest was novel, but I don't think it works for a breakfast sausage. There wasn't enough flavor there, and the orange and fennel combination just wasn't what I expect to taste in breakfast sausage. I followed the recipe almost exactly, right down to grinding the pork fresh, although I used a tangerine instead of an orange for the zest (that's all I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Although this tasted fine, it is not the flavor I expect in a breakfast sausage. My boys, who love sausage, didn't eat it. They were put off by the orange and fennel. I thought it tasted too much like Italian sausage. It was good, but not what I wanted in a breakfast sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Yum. This is a great breakfast patty recipe. I followed the recipe except for the orange zest which I didn't have. I subbed orange marmalade. Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Chef John's Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States