Chef John's Bourbon Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I am happy to be the first to review Chef John's newest offering. I have made carrots in a similar fashion for years but never thought of adding bourbon. What an inspired idea! I used baby carrots, so rather than slicing them to rounds, I simply quartered or halved them and it worked well. My advice is to make these soon and consider having them the special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
They are great, but what isn't with all that butter. I do not use cayenne pepper, or black pepper, but I do use dried Basil. Like John said, not a dish for everyday, but once in awhile is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Served this to my family (one of whom doesn't like carrots) and there was not any leftovers! This will definitely find a place on our table time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
These were so good. I wish I could make them all the time but unfortunately they really have to be for a special occasion if you are watching calories. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My, oh my! Thank you Chef John. Served it to my husband and friends and there wasn't a carrot left over! Yes, it's sweet (and the bourbon gives it such a wonderful flavor), but It is PERFECT with a simple steak or chicken and a side of cooked fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Fabulous! Even though I was only cooking for two people, I made two pounds of carrots thinking there would be leftovers. Wrong! My husband and I ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Great recipes...family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
The carrots tasted like candy! I forgot the paprika and pepper will try next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Really good. I did leave out the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Delicious. Watch out for the 2' flare up with the bourbon, even if your flame is off. Easy and well worth making. Cayenne adds perfect heat and dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States