Chef John's Bourbon Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I am happy to be the first to review Chef John's newest offering. I have made carrots in a similar fashion for years but never thought of adding bourbon. What an inspired idea! I used baby carrots, so rather than slicing them to rounds, I simply quartered or halved them and it worked well. My advice is to make these soon and consider having them the special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Tasty dish. A bit too sweet for most of us. Bourbon flavor was very nice and the seasoning was ok but missing something. Next time I think I will "steam" the veggies in the bourbon then add some butter,the seasoning, fresh parsley and garlic. I used baby carrots and left them whole as they were thin and petite. The recipe did make for well browned and caramelized carrots so if you like sweet veggies you may very well enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My, oh my! Thank you Chef John. Served it to my husband and friends and there wasn't a carrot left over! Yes, it's sweet (and the bourbon gives it such a wonderful flavor), but It is PERFECT with a simple steak or chicken and a side of cooked fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
These were so good. I wish I could make them all the time but unfortunately they really have to be for a special occasion if you are watching calories. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I liked it. I only put in a small amount of sugar and just added little by little. Actually as carrots are already a sweet vegetable, it doesn't need much. The only other thing.....if I put alcohol in a dish, I prefer to flambee it. The sauce tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
They are great, but what isn't with all that butter. I do not use cayenne pepper, or black pepper, but I do use dried Basil. Like John said, not a dish for everyday, but once in awhile is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The recipe is decent although there is either way too much bourbon or bourbon and carrots are not a good pairing. It isn't bad, just kind of strange. I made the carrots exactly as written and will try again though will also make some adjustments. Perhaps use another kind of alcohol or a vegetable broth or reduce the amount of bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Delicious. Watch out for the 2' flare up with the bourbon, even if your flame is off. Easy and well worth making. Cayenne adds perfect heat and dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Really good. I did leave out the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
The carrots tasted like candy! I forgot the paprika and pepper will try next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States