Chef John's Bourbon Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I am happy to be the first to review Chef John's newest offering. I have made carrots in a similar fashion for years but never thought of adding bourbon. What an inspired idea! I used baby carrots, so rather than slicing them to rounds, I simply quartered or halved them and it worked well. My advice is to make these soon and consider having them the special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Tasty dish. A bit too sweet for most of us. Bourbon flavor was very nice and the seasoning was ok but missing something. Next time I think I will "steam" the veggies in the bourbon then add some butter,the seasoning, fresh parsley and garlic. I used baby carrots and left them whole as they were thin and petite. The recipe did make for well browned and caramelized carrots so if you like sweet veggies you may very well enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
These were so good. I wish I could make them all the time but unfortunately they really have to be for a special occasion if you are watching calories. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The recipe is decent although there is either way too much bourbon or bourbon and carrots are not a good pairing. It isn't bad, just kind of strange. I made the carrots exactly as written and will try again though will also make some adjustments. Perhaps use another kind of alcohol or a vegetable broth or reduce the amount of bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
They are great, but what isn't with all that butter. I do not use cayenne pepper, or black pepper, but I do use dried Basil. Like John said, not a dish for everyday, but once in awhile is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My, oh my! Thank you Chef John. Served it to my husband and friends and there wasn't a carrot left over! Yes, it's sweet (and the bourbon gives it such a wonderful flavor), but It is PERFECT with a simple steak or chicken and a side of cooked fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Served this to my family (one of whom doesn't like carrots) and there was not any leftovers! This will definitely find a place on our table time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Fabulous! Even though I was only cooking for two people, I made two pounds of carrots thinking there would be leftovers. Wrong! My husband and I ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Much too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Great recipes...family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States