Chef John's Bourbon Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I liked it. I only put in a small amount of sugar and just added little by little. Actually as carrots are already a sweet vegetable, it doesn't need much. The only other thing.....if I put alcohol in a dish, I prefer to flambee it. The sauce tastes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Really good. I did leave out the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
The carrots tasted like candy! I forgot the paprika and pepper will try next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Great recipes...family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Much too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Fabulous! Even though I was only cooking for two people, I made two pounds of carrots thinking there would be leftovers. Wrong! My husband and I ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Served this to my family (one of whom doesn't like carrots) and there was not any leftovers! This will definitely find a place on our table time and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My, oh my! Thank you Chef John. Served it to my husband and friends and there wasn't a carrot left over! Yes, it's sweet (and the bourbon gives it such a wonderful flavor), but It is PERFECT with a simple steak or chicken and a side of cooked fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GourmetGale

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
They are great, but what isn't with all that butter. I do not use cayenne pepper, or black pepper, but I do use dried Basil. Like John said, not a dish for everyday, but once in awhile is really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The recipe is decent although there is either way too much bourbon or bourbon and carrots are not a good pairing. It isn't bad, just kind of strange. I made the carrots exactly as written and will try again though will also make some adjustments. Perhaps use another kind of alcohol or a vegetable broth or reduce the amount of bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Chef John’s Five-Spice Carrots

These roasted carrots are an easy, aromatic, and deliciously different side dish.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States