Chef John's Boston Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carin
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I'm giving this cake five stars for how easy it was to make. Next time I'll use a home made yellow cake recipe, but this time I wanted to use up a box mix that was left in the pantry and was ready to expire. My filling turned out great. I did not turn the temp to low as the instructions say, it thickened up very nicely, and the flavor was like custard. My chocolate topping also turned out great. I used 3/4 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips with the cream and butter. Overall a very easy cake to make and it looks beautiful. I'm taking this to work for a birthday celebration...hopefully it tastes as good as it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I thought I followed this recipe too, but my cream was soupy also. When it didn't thicken after 4 hrs in the refrigerator I started thinking about what could have gone wrong. I decided to reheat the cream, this time allowing it to get hotter and begin to thicken. It worked perfectly and saved my cream. I let it cool then finished the cake. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I followed this recipe to the letter. I did not care for this. The custard was soup, the chocolate was soup. The only good thing about this cake was the cake itself... and that came out of a box. Next time I'll take the other reviews to heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was THE BOMB. It was a HIT at my housewarming, the custard was thick and rich, the ganache was AMAZING. Next time I will put in less cornstarch, though, just to see. The flavor of cornstarch was quite evident, but DELISH nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this last week for my brother in law's bday. I think the concept and the flavors are very good. But I had to go with 4 stars based on the directions. My pastry cream did not set properly. I actually had to get it out of the fridge and back on the heat. Please keep your heat on medium until it actually thickens. Keep whisking- it may take a bit longer than you expect. The ganache was easy to make but I got the chocolate premelted in the microwave. About 30 seconds on power 6 before adding the milk mixture. Even after cooling for an hour it was still a bit runny. I bought one vanilla 9 in layer from the grocery store bakery and cut it with dental floss. This way it was more like the store bought versions of BCP. After all the pastry cream drama it came out great. (I added another tsp of vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Tried this recipe it was good but the cream filling for me didn't thicken :( the good flavor was there but not sure what went wrong I will definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This recipe tastes great but I had the same problem with it being runny. Perhaps I didn't cook it long enough or to a high enough heat. Not as pretty as I'd like.I'll make it again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is my husband's favorite dessert. This is super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I made this cake for my brother's birthday and it was a huge hit! I read the reviews about the pastry cream and ganache being too runny and if it weren't for the video I probably would have had the same problem. Instead I had the video on repeat and made sure that they were thickening correctly. The pastry cream ended up being heated longer and on medium heat and the ganache had to sit in the fridge for a short while, but be careful that it doesn't get too thick! It tasted great and looked pretty too! I will most definitely be making this again in the future. By the way, I love this chef and his videos are very helpful for beginners like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Easy. I made the recipe as-is except I was unclear what kind of chocolate to get, so I got unsweetened baker's chocolate. I knew that would be too bitter (especially given some comments here) so I mixed in a half cup of sugar to it. Perfect. It was still dark, with a bitter edge, but not overpoweringly bitter. As other commenters have said, the cream is far too runny. I even cooked it a couple minutes longer over medium-low instead of low as people suggested so that it would thicken. It thickened on the stove and I refrigerated for 2.5 hours (yes, a bit short of the minimum recommended 3- I was in a rush for a party.) As a result, the cream oozed over the sides, and the top cake eventually basically pressed it all out. The result? Delicious, although not as desired. I recommend trying some of the other commenters suggestions on improving the firmness of the cream. Easy recipe though and people liked it. I'd try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States