Chef John's Boston Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I followed this recipe to the letter. I did not care for this. The custard was soup, the chocolate was soup. The only good thing about this cake was the cake itself... and that came out of a box. Next time I'll take the other reviews to heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was THE BOMB. It was a HIT at my housewarming, the custard was thick and rich, the ganache was AMAZING. Next time I will put in less cornstarch, though, just to see. The flavor of cornstarch was quite evident, but DELISH nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this last week for my brother in law's bday. I think the concept and the flavors are very good. But I had to go with 4 stars based on the directions. My pastry cream did not set properly. I actually had to get it out of the fridge and back on the heat. Please keep your heat on medium until it actually thickens. Keep whisking- it may take a bit longer than you expect. The ganache was easy to make but I got the chocolate premelted in the microwave. About 30 seconds on power 6 before adding the milk mixture. Even after cooling for an hour it was still a bit runny. I bought one vanilla 9 in layer from the grocery store bakery and cut it with dental floss. This way it was more like the store bought versions of BCP. After all the pastry cream drama it came out great. (I added another tsp of vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Tried this recipe it was good but the cream filling for me didn't thicken :( the good flavor was there but not sure what went wrong I will definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This recipe tastes great but I had the same problem with it being runny. Perhaps I didn't cook it long enough or to a high enough heat. Not as pretty as I'd like.I'll make it again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is my husband's favorite dessert. This is super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I made this cake for my brother's birthday and it was a huge hit! I read the reviews about the pastry cream and ganache being too runny and if it weren't for the video I probably would have had the same problem. Instead I had the video on repeat and made sure that they were thickening correctly. The pastry cream ended up being heated longer and on medium heat and the ganache had to sit in the fridge for a short while, but be careful that it doesn't get too thick! It tasted great and looked pretty too! I will most definitely be making this again in the future. By the way, I love this chef and his videos are very helpful for beginners like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Easy. I made the recipe as-is except I was unclear what kind of chocolate to get, so I got unsweetened baker's chocolate. I knew that would be too bitter (especially given some comments here) so I mixed in a half cup of sugar to it. Perfect. It was still dark, with a bitter edge, but not overpoweringly bitter. As other commenters have said, the cream is far too runny. I even cooked it a couple minutes longer over medium-low instead of low as people suggested so that it would thicken. It thickened on the stove and I refrigerated for 2.5 hours (yes, a bit short of the minimum recommended 3- I was in a rush for a party.) As a result, the cream oozed over the sides, and the top cake eventually basically pressed it all out. The result? Delicious, although not as desired. I recommend trying some of the other commenters suggestions on improving the firmness of the cream. Easy recipe though and people liked it. I'd try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
The only things I changed when I made this was the cream/milk ratio in the cream filling and semi-sweet chocolate instead of dark. I didn't have whole milk so instead of 1cup each I used 1 1/2 cups heavy cream and 1/2 cup 2% milk. The flavor of both the cream and the chocolate was wonderful. Unfortunatly neither set up well. I ended up cooking the cream on medium, not low, for 2 minutes just to get it to look like the video and it sat in the fridge for 4 hours and the freezer for 15 minutes and it still just ran out of the cake. It seemed to me like there was way to much of it even if it had been firmer. The chocolate never got as thick as he shows. I put it in the fridge for a little bit to try to firm it up before I put it on and it still ran. We ended up dumping the whole cake into a bowl to contain the run off. We are eating it as if it were a pudding. The flavor is wonderful, but it is admittedly the second ugliest thing I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
For those that have a thickening problem with the cream filling... add 4 Tablespoons of Wondra granulated flour to the egg yolk mixture... it will thicken up to pudding consistency. I recommend that in place of the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States