Chef John's Boston Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lando
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This Boston cream pie is the best! I made it yesterday for my dad and sister in law's birthday and everyone loved it! It's easy and very delicious. The only one thing that I failed is that I couldn't thicken the custard even I tried for twice in a row and followed the recipe exactly. But then I added 2 more Tbsp of cornstarch into the egg mixture and it turned out perfectly. I love the just right sweetness of the custard and the chocolate mixture. It's very creamy alndnd tasty! I still don't know why I couldn't make make the make the custard thick without adding more cornstarch. Maybe the measurements are not exact as I bought alndnd the cheap stuffs or because the asmosphere of where Where I live is different from others. But seriously, if you get the it right, it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lando

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
Great recipe but I needed to tweak it a little. The first time I tried it, I felt there was too big of a cake to cream ratio. So the next time I made it, I put less cake batter in each pan. It left me with about 1/2 cup of unused batter but I felt the cake tasted more evenly balanced. I would definitely recommend this recipe if you like Boston Cream Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carin
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I'm giving this cake five stars for how easy it was to make. Next time I'll use a home made yellow cake recipe, but this time I wanted to use up a box mix that was left in the pantry and was ready to expire. My filling turned out great. I did not turn the temp to low as the instructions say, it thickened up very nicely, and the flavor was like custard. My chocolate topping also turned out great. I used 3/4 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips with the cream and butter. Overall a very easy cake to make and it looks beautiful. I'm taking this to work for a birthday celebration...hopefully it tastes as good as it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I thought I followed this recipe too, but my cream was soupy also. When it didn't thicken after 4 hrs in the refrigerator I started thinking about what could have gone wrong. I decided to reheat the cream, this time allowing it to get hotter and begin to thicken. It worked perfectly and saved my cream. I let it cool then finished the cake. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I followed this recipe to the letter. I did not care for this. The custard was soup, the chocolate was soup. The only good thing about this cake was the cake itself... and that came out of a box. Next time I'll take the other reviews to heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
This was THE BOMB. It was a HIT at my housewarming, the custard was thick and rich, the ganache was AMAZING. Next time I will put in less cornstarch, though, just to see. The flavor of cornstarch was quite evident, but DELISH nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Made this last week for my brother in law's bday. I think the concept and the flavors are very good. But I had to go with 4 stars based on the directions. My pastry cream did not set properly. I actually had to get it out of the fridge and back on the heat. Please keep your heat on medium until it actually thickens. Keep whisking- it may take a bit longer than you expect. The ganache was easy to make but I got the chocolate premelted in the microwave. About 30 seconds on power 6 before adding the milk mixture. Even after cooling for an hour it was still a bit runny. I bought one vanilla 9 in layer from the grocery store bakery and cut it with dental floss. This way it was more like the store bought versions of BCP. After all the pastry cream drama it came out great. (I added another tsp of vanilla).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Tried this recipe it was good but the cream filling for me didn't thicken :( the good flavor was there but not sure what went wrong I will definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This recipe tastes great but I had the same problem with it being runny. Perhaps I didn't cook it long enough or to a high enough heat. Not as pretty as I'd like.I'll make it again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This is my husband's favorite dessert. This is super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Chef John's Ricotta Pie

See how to make a lighter, less sweet version of cheesecake.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States