Chef John's Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I halved this recipe and substituted the sour cream for plain Greek yogurt since it's all I had on hand. I also used whole wheat flour instead of white. I then sprinkled the tops with a cinnamon and sugar mixture prior to placing in the over. Baked for 23 mins, made 8 muffins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yéléna
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I really like these muffins and the extra blueberry "kick" to them. But, I thought they were rather dry. I would probably add on a bit more sour cream or milk. They are definitely worth the experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yéléna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island City, New York, USA
Living In: Peekskill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Best Blueberry muffins ever. I tripled the recipe and they were still amazing. I loved them! Espessially how the sour cream is in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Fabulous! I used blueberry & blackberry yogurt + lemon juice in place of the sour cream, and cut back on the sugar. I used ½ whole wheat flour and made a lemon glaze for them. Simple, light, fluffy and delicious. Cupcake like in texture. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Very good. Used lite sour cream. I split the recipe in 1/2 and recipe made 11 regular sized muffins. Also, I sprinkled with cinnamon mixed with sanding sugar toward the last 10 mins of baking for a nice topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I've made these several times and they've always come out good. Today, they were excellent! I think I measured more closely and used the sour cream instead of sour milk. I watched the video first and it says not to over mix. That's another key to good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Only changes were to use low fat blueberry yogurt in place of sour cream, as well as frozen Maine blueberries in place of regular fresh blueberries. This made 24 regular-sized muffins, and I baked for only 20 min, rotating pans half-way through. The lemon zest is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Very very good I usually make CI recipes but this was delicious and made more than 12' yeahh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Pretty good muffin. This is a good base recipe to add any fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States