Chef John's Beef Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Very good recipe. A couple suggestions if you're trying this: paprikas vary greatly. If your paprika is spicy that might be enough heat. If it's sweeter or you're concerned about spice - start with 1/4 tsp cayenne and add more before reducing the liquid if you need it. Also, use a spice grinder for the caraway seeds - you need them ground really well. I added 4 carrots just to have a little vegetables and I'd probably do 6 next time. I'd also add one more bay leaf. And finally, I cooked this on the grill in a cast iron dutch oven at 300 degrees with indirect heat. Once done cooking (approx 2 hours), I put it on high direct heat, uncovered it and reduced for 15 or 20 minutes. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Richards

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Loved it. Gives you a spicy mouth afterward, and during eating, is just the right amount of spicy deliciousness. I agree - probably a bit too spicy for a young kiddo, but perfect for adults! We didn't let it simmer the whole time, so it was a little watery, but I'd guess we'll be impatient to eat it in the future [again] so will hit it with some cornstarch next time. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Great recipe! Thank you Chef John for yet another home run! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North East, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I made this tonight on a snowy day. Perfect day to make it because it needs to simmer for several hours. I followed the recipe exactly and all I can say is it was delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This is very good and rich. Served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This came out pretty good even though I did not have 2 of the ingredients, caraway seeds and balsamic vinegar. I substituted 1 tsp of crushed cumin seed and 1 tsp dill seed for the 2 tsp of caraway seeds and apple cider vinegar for the balsamic vinegar. Chef John always adds a little cayenne pepper to most of his recipes and I usually like that but 1/2 tsp was a little too much in this recipe. I served this over ribbon noodles with a dollop of left over creme fraiche. I will get all the correct ingredients and make this again with 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and update my review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
It's the only way I cook beef now - the flavour is so rich and full of umph! Plus the house smells incredible for the whole day. I skip on cayenne since the freshly ground black pepper adds enough heat on its own. After my second time, I went out and bought a spice grinder just so that I can grind the caraway seeds for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiggles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Very delicious recipe. Followed recipe pretty much as written and made sure to use real Hungarian paprika. I did serve it the day after I cooked it to give the flavors a chance to mature. Hubby raved about how good it was. Not too spicy for us. A little more trouble than some recipes but well worth it. Thank you, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I love this recipe. It is so savory and flavorful. Everything you would want In a Hungarian Goulash. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neisha Natale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This was really good. My husband loved it. He could smell it before he got into the house. I tried to do it exactly as written. I ran out of paprika (and couldn't even find Hungarian paprika at the store) and was at least a couple of teaspoons short. I used just a tad less cayenne because so many said it was too much. Also I followed the written recipe which called for ground thyme. Later I watched the video and he used dried thyme. None of it mattered. The flavors were amazing. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States