Chef John's Beef Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
We loved this! It's true it is a little spicy, so if you're sensitive to heat just cut back on the cayenne pepper a bit. We think the noodles and sour cream tamed the spice for us. I was afraid at first it was going to be a little too vinegary, but when it was done....nope. It was really tasty and perfect for a cold night. Smelled great while simmering, but be sure to keep it at a simmer with no lid so it reduces properly. A keeper in this house for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Easy and delicious. Sour cream really does add to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygirlatheart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Absolutely stunning dish! Made Chef John's Goulash as written and it was perfection! I am shameless tweeker, I'll admit it. No need with this recipe, though. If you are intimidated by rich, intense flavored ethnic dishes, then this recipe may not be for you and, as another reviewer wrote, may not be too kid friendly. However, if you have a palate that loves new experiences, please give this recipe a whirl. Hooray for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by Tricia
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I made this goulash. Instead of beef I used deer meat. It turn out so yummy. I also added 4 shakes of maggi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is the second of Chef Johns recipes that I've tried and I'm 2 for 2. I made it almost exactly as written, didn't leave anything out, but did up the paprika. Hubby loved it, he keeps saying I should open a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe is phenomenal! I printed out the recipe and my husband was the one who wanted to make it - the beef turned out so tender and my 15yr old son called the sauce "pure flavour" and "intensely beef-y" and asked that this be put into the recipe rotation! He's learning to cook now, so maybe he'll make it the next time. Thanks, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I added about half a green pepper, diced and sauteed along with the onion, which I had seen in other Goulash recipes. Went light on the cayenne pepper. (Chef John's nothing without his red pepper!) This was simple, delectable and even better the next day. Served over buttered egg noodles. Will make again! Thanks Chef John! Highly recommended, and I would encourage the grinding of the caraway along with the use of fresh marjoram if at all possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
i used lamb shanks and made as written. this was very, very good. i used smoked paprika which is probably very different than the hungarian paprika, but it was what i had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
My first Chef John recipe and it was a keeper. My family loved it. It did take some time to prep, but well worth it. I added sour cream to my first serving and none to my second. It did add that extra something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misha1996

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Compton, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
My sweetie raves over this dish. Just the right amount of bite/heat. I baked it in a Dutch oven at 300 degrees for 3 hours. Will definitely make this again, maybe even for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States