Chef John's Beef Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Boy is this a great recipe! I had the front window open and a neighbor and the UPS man stopped by to ask what was cooking! A couple of things that are not mentioned in the recipe but are in the video - first Chef John used a mortar and pestle to grin the caraway seeds - well let me tell you caraway does not like to be crushed, but this is really an essential part of the recipe, if you have a spice grinder - use it, otherwise be prepare for some heavy duty crushing with the mortar and pestle. Also, cool the skillet between doing the onions and toasting the spices - I came dangerously close to burning those preciously ground spices! The video recommends simmering with the lid off - which I did and is probably also why the neighbors came asking about dinner. This was a rich and beautiful stew - company worthy for sure, especially on a cold fall or winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Dad & I thought it was alright but it was w-a-y too zippy for the four kidlets ages 10 and under. If I ever make this again, it'll be with serious alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
We loved this! It's true it is a little spicy, so if you're sensitive to heat just cut back on the cayenne pepper a bit. We think the noodles and sour cream tamed the spice for us. I was afraid at first it was going to be a little too vinegary, but when it was done....nope. It was really tasty and perfect for a cold night. Smelled great while simmering, but be sure to keep it at a simmer with no lid so it reduces properly. A keeper in this house for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Absolutely stunning dish! Made Chef John's Goulash as written and it was perfection! I am shameless tweeker, I'll admit it. No need with this recipe, though. If you are intimidated by rich, intense flavored ethnic dishes, then this recipe may not be for you and, as another reviewer wrote, may not be too kid friendly. However, if you have a palate that loves new experiences, please give this recipe a whirl. Hooray for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by Tricia
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I made this goulash. Instead of beef I used deer meat. It turn out so yummy. I also added 4 shakes of maggi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is the second of Chef Johns recipes that I've tried and I'm 2 for 2. I made it almost exactly as written, didn't leave anything out, but did up the paprika. Hubby loved it, he keeps saying I should open a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This recipe had too much spice to it. If I were to make it again I would halve the amount of Hungarian paprika. But I do not think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kewpee Kid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe is phenomenal! I printed out the recipe and my husband was the one who wanted to make it - the beef turned out so tender and my 15yr old son called the sauce "pure flavour" and "intensely beef-y" and asked that this be put into the recipe rotation! He's learning to cook now, so maybe he'll make it the next time. Thanks, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I added about half a green pepper, diced and sauteed along with the onion, which I had seen in other Goulash recipes. Went light on the cayenne pepper. (Chef John's nothing without his red pepper!) This was simple, delectable and even better the next day. Served over buttered egg noodles. Will make again! Thanks Chef John! Highly recommended, and I would encourage the grinding of the caraway along with the use of fresh marjoram if at all possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
i used lamb shanks and made as written. this was very, very good. i used smoked paprika which is probably very different than the hungarian paprika, but it was what i had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Chef John’s Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States