Chef John's Beef Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This dish earned at least 4 "amazing"s from my husband at dinner tonight :-) My 4yo kept telling me i did a good job too lol I reduced the heat by half and it still had kick. I did not have tomato paste so I substituted an equal amount of chopped sun dried tomatoes. At a simmer this reduced a ton so I had to add another cup of chicken broth the last half hour of cooking. I put it over spaghetti and topped with sour cream, parsley,Monterey Jack cheese and corn bread crumbs. Yet ANOTHER Chef John hit :-) Keep em coming and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Ohmygoodness! You will be sorry if you don't try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Chef John comes closest to the real goulash. Way to go Chef John. I am from Austria born in Hungary so I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
WOW! Another keeper from Chef John. This is so tasty. I followed the recipe exactly, however I didn't have Hungarian Paprika so I had to use the paprika I had. Great comfort food. We had this with egg noodles, and the leftovers were even better! Thanks again for another HIT Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Hubs ate this 3 days in a row for dinner and raved each time. The flavors layers are so intense. Made the recipe exactly as written and it was perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Excellent. The flavors all blended so well and just the right amount of heat. BF said it was one for the regular rotation! Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. Made it exactly as written. The meat was tender though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight and it was spectacular!!! The only thing I did differently was to cut the cayenne in half (my 3 y.o. granddaughter was eating this and loving it by the way and she doesn't like meat!). It was easy to prepare and super luscious. I think the caraway really makes it especially toasting it in the skillet first. I made this for a party of 15 and they all went home with the recipe! Thanks Chef John :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Chef John, You rock! This is a fabulous, delicious recipe. Make just as is; if you don't make as written, don't review it ( not fair). Maybe it's authentic and maybe it's not, but who cares. It's delicious even for the old folk and the young folk in our family. The egg noodles (homemade, please) and sour cream make it extra special. Always love to try Chef John recipes because I always know that they will be really good without being too difficult for me to want to make or too fancy-gourmet for my midwestern family ranging from age 4 to 87 to want to eat. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Family loved this goulash! A keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States