Chef John's Beef Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
very, very good. i was quite amazed with how this turned out. thanks for sharing such a tasty recipe, it's now one of my family's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Excellent recipe - great depth of flavor and easy to make. I like spicy & found this dish fairly mellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Really good! So flavorful. I used 1/4 tsp cayenne, it was the perfect amount. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Great Combination of Spices! Followed recipe as written - used all ingredients as written without substitutions. Also if too spicy, sour cream on side - perfect gravy and tender meat. I did add carrots and mushrooms. My family, happy with unique smoky spiciness. Made it during Chicago snowstorm, and served it with egg noodles, crusty bread, and red wine. Perfect dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I bought a cut of beef chuck accidentally thinking it was steak tips and then had to find a recipe to use it in. I've never had Goulash before but the recipe sounded interesting, and didn't turn out to be any more difficult or time consuming than any beef stew recipe would. I was a little concerned about the texture of the beef while it was cooking because it was pretty tough until the very end of the 2 hours. In the end it turned out fantastic, even better the next day. Can't go wrong with Chef John... Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Very good! my ex in-laws are from Hungary and this is pretty close to Suzie's recipe. I don't remember caraway seeds being in it. I don't like them--I would have remembered those. She also made the same dish with chicken and boneless pork. YUM! and to the person that said this is supposed to be a soup. You are wrong--goulash is a stew like meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Albans, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is really, really good. But it is not goulash--it's paprikash. I think it is better to add the egg noodles a bit al dente to the soup and then serve. Much easier to eat that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bailey800

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I thought this was great. New flavors I have never cooked with (caraway). The meat was tender and I found that a small portion was filling due to the richness of the flavors. I held back a bit on the cayenne so that everyone in my house would like it. i'd say this is a monthly repeat on my menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Tasted burnt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
It indeed was too spicy. I'm not sure cayenne was needed at all. The remainder of the recipe was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Chef John's Beef Braciole

An Italian rolled steak stuffed with bread crumbs, dried fruit, cheese, & herbs.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States