Chef John's Beans and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I used kale instead of escarole, since there was no escarole at the farmer's market. The Kkale seems a little more bitter, so I used a little extra garlic and crushed red pepper. This was delicious and filling and a perfect dinner for those trying to eat more beans and vegetables, as recommended by nutritionists.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Awesome flavor for the amount of ingredients, and they all come together perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bart Jasiewicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wroclaw, Lower Silesian, Poland
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
We love Chef John's recipes, and we have made this several times. So good and so easy! I use a very low sodium organic chicken broth, and rinse the beans well to remove any extra salt; otherwise I make it as directed (except the salt at the end), but I do put a bit of fresh Parmesan Reggiano grated with a microplane over the top instead. This also works with a flavorful veggie broth, and spinach in place of escarole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was a very satisfying soup with a great blend of flavors. I couldn't find escarole, so I used kale. I also used anchovy paste (1/2 tsp) instead of an anchovy filet. Otherwise I stayed true to the recipe. I thought about adding bacon, but decided to be healthy and leave it out. I'm glad I did - bacon is not necessary to make this a delicious dish. I served it with a pork tenderloin. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This was delicious! I used leftover carrot tops and kale instead of escarole...this is a keeper and will be making regular appearances at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Nice, fresh and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Healthy, easy, inexpensive and versatile. I have tons of spinach from my garden this year so that was the greens I used. I say versatile because I had some leftover sautéed turkey italian sausage that I used in place of one can of the beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This is the most delicious greens recipe I have ever tasted. I am using turnip greens. In the last month we have had it three times. The lemon jest adds just the right amount of snap and the usual addition of bacon grease to greens is not missed. As Chef John says, you don't realize you haven't had meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe as presented and thought it was excellent. I had two bowls late in the evening and was full but not uncomfortable. Nice light late night meal. I suppose you could add sausage or an egg if you are looking for a more hearty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This recipe is delicious and simple - love it! I really think letting the stock reduce adds a wonderful richness to the soup. I didn't dislike the lemon zest, but it was a bit strong for me. Next time I might leave it out and add a splash of red or white wine vinegar at the end instead. The anchovy, not surprisingly, added great flavor! But will someone please tell me what to do with the other anchovies!?!? They always seem to go to waste. Overall, this soup is definitely worth making and putting in your regular rotation of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Chef John’s Rocket Beans

See how to make an amazing arugula, bacon, and butter bean side dish.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States