Chef John's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I increased the vanilla to a full teaspoon, used pecans instead of walnuts and mini chocolate chips. I made muffins out of this recipe--I actually got 12 really big muffins out of one recipe. I baked them at 350* for 22 minutes. I did let them cool in the pan overnight. I make A LOT of banana bread and A LOT of muffins (my family can eat 12 muffins in one day and that's on a slow day) and I think this is one of the best banana breads I've ever made. My husband called to tell me from work that HE thinks this is one of the better banana bread recipes I've made......and that's huge coming from him. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Fabulous recipe for an all time favorite! And, I must admit I did make this using those last three overly ripe bananas, lol! I doubled the vanilla and to give it a little spice I added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. I also subbed 1 Tbsp. of buttermilk vs. milk. You could do half brown sugar and half white sugar depending on what you have in your kitchen. And, this is great with or without the nuts and chocolate chips! I topped this with a little turbinado sugar before popping it in the oven for a little extra added crunch on top. I baked it at 350 for a little over an hour and just as Chef John states, it's "scrumptious"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Great recipe!!!! I have made this banana bread 3 times. Quick and easy and more importantly....delicious. The only thing I do differently is add mini chocolate chips instead of the regular size. I love this recipe. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
For a slightly spiced version of this great recipe try adding in 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground ginger, & 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg. For all of you who can´t find the recipe, it´s in the text under the video :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mario

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe - the best banana bread I've ever made. But ... we added a dash of nutmeg and two dashes of cinnamon. (Oh, and we didn't have the chocolate chips.) The added spices really kicked this recipe into a whole new level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
On my 3rd loaf. Followed video instructions to a tee! My family loved this- left out walnuts as we are not walnut fans. Goes fast in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msgalfriend
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Very moist and delicious. Followed as directed except I used 4 ripe bananas (small & medium) and I baked it in a 9 x 13 pan, which was plenty. Also I didn't have to bake as long as they indicated so I would watch and use the tooth pick method for doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This recipe was delicious. The only thing I added was 1 tbsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. Will definitely make this again!!!! Thanks chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I folllowed this recipe to a tee and I made sure not to over stir and cooked it for the allotted time and Ifound this banana brad to be dry. It will definitely will need butter spread on it! perhaps it needs a little more milk. Even watching the video Chef John's banana bread seemed to have more liquid in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
i used a bundt cake pan and baked it for 45minutes. came out great and it was very moist. thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THUNDERKATZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States