Chef John's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Just made the banana bread for the first time(in my life) turned out amazing great job chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaveJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This is an excellent recipe! I made 12 muffins (baked for 22 minutes) instead of a loaf of bread. I also used 4 frozen bananas which I thawed and then drained off liquid from before mashing. Texture, flavor, everything was perfect! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I made this two days ago and it was SO GOOD! I had 5 small-med bananas so I used them all. I didn't use walnuts ( preference) otherwise made as is. Best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Fantastic. Friends and family love this! Great recipe... definite keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
It was definitely good, but not the best I've had. I'm still looking for a WOW factor recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great simple recipe. Makes an easy robust base to alter as you as much as you like. I usually replace a cup of the flour with a cup of rolled oats or quick oats cereal, reduce sugar to a quarter cup and throw in a handful of sultanas or dried cranberries. it's nice if you sprinkle a few teaspoons of crushed walnuts a pinches of brown sugar for the top. You can also use halve the amount of butter and replace with low-fat plain yoghurt as well. This makes it a healthier, yet still delicious breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Very moist and delicious I've made this twice turned out great both times ! Guests loved it !! quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
You've done it again, Chef John. This was the first banana bread I've ever made in my life and it was SO MUCH BETTER than anything I've ever eaten from anyone else! The only thing I changed was increasing the vanilla to a full tsp. Or was it a tbs? I don't know, I just slopped it in there. I like my strong vanilla flavor! It was fantastic! Will make again, and again, and again, and share with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lawlly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
The key to this bread is not over-mixing. So glad to see a recipe that shows how to make this without a mixer! It is almost impossible to ruin this recipe, in my opinion.One thing I will add: I don't mash my bananas: I press through them one time with the tines of a fork. I like biting into actual bits of banana. And, don't shoot me chef--I simplify further by using self-rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made this bread today and it was okay but not my favorite recipe. My husband ate it and so did my father-in-law and both are not picky eaters but preferred my older recipe. I like to try new things but this is not a keeper for me. These muffins seemed a bit oily for my preference and I followed the recipe to the letter except for leaving out the chocolate chips as my husband is allergic to chocolate. It's good enough I guess but needs tweaked in some way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol O

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carrollton, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States