Chef John's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This bread was DRY! I followed the recipe to the letter, not making any substitutions and using very ripe bananas. I had to pull the bread out of the oven 5 minutes early and even then, it was way overcooked. My husband and I agree, this was overly sweet, a tad salty and lacked in real flavor, on top of being way too dry. Too bad, I thought this had potential. I didn't use my normal recipe because I didn't have sour cream, well, lesson learned. I will either chuck the bananas in the freezer or run to the store the next time if I don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I was looking for an easy recipe to use up some going bad bananas. This bread turned out great! I left out the walnuts, chocolate chips, used organic sugar, substituted a half cup of all purpose for whole wheat flour and it tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
OMG, it was awesome!!! My 8yr old watched the recipe in video and then whip it up with me. She really wanted chocolate bread, So, I have sub. in 1/4 cup of flour with cocoa powder. I didn't have chocolate chip and just chopped in the semi-sweet ghirardelli square chocolate. Definitely need the full 1 hr and 10 mins. I took it out 5 mins early and the middle part has a brownie texture. Still taste amazing. DD sprinkle some sugar on top of the loaf and it was so crunchy good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Chao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
OMG! This is so good. It was gone in 24 hours. I did have one problem. After an hour I checked it and it was over done on the outside, but it was not done on the inside. I put it back in for 10 more minutes and the inside was done. I almost wonder if just turning down the oven to 300 would solve that problem. This is my go to recipe for banana bread now! I left out the walnuts and added one cup of semi sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer13
Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This recipe turned out great! I doubled the recipe. I did add a sprinkle of nutmeg and allspice and about 1 tsp of cinnamon. Didn't use nuts but added a bit more chocolate chips. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Made this without the nuts and chocolate chips and it was great. really moist with just the right banana taste. Can't wait to try it with the nuts and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
This was very good, very moist, but that was probably because I accidentally added too much milk :) The cooking time was way to long. I took mine out at 50 minutes. Also, all of my nuts and chocolate chip sank to the bottom, but other than that, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I've made this twice: once with chocolate chips and once with pecans. Both came out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dcorbin
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Very moist and tasty. Didn't have any chocolate chips but it didn't matter at all. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcorbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Very tasty and moist! I made muffins. I used a home made gluten free AP flour blend and coconut oil instead of butter. I had no walnuts so used sliced almonds. Really nice flavor and not too sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States