Chef John's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by YooperMSU
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I make this ALL the time and follow it to a T! well, except I don't add chocolate chips because I don't like them in breads :) BUT, nonetheless it's straightforward and people always ask for the recipe! I watched his quick video on mixing too and will never over mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Do not change anything simple and delicious just like the man say's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Seriously best banana bread EVER!!!! I have made many and none compare to this recipe. The only thing I do different is no nuts, I don't think it needs it. People that I make this bread for are always asking for the recipe...I have probably shared this recipe over 20+ times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikail82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
It was excellent. My mom makes a great banana bread and this rivals her's. My wife made this and I'm very grateful. We will be sharing this with our "foodie" friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This bread was DRY! I followed the recipe to the letter, not making any substitutions and using very ripe bananas. I had to pull the bread out of the oven 5 minutes early and even then, it was way overcooked. My husband and I agree, this was overly sweet, a tad salty and lacked in real flavor, on top of being way too dry. Too bad, I thought this had potential. I didn't use my normal recipe because I didn't have sour cream, well, lesson learned. I will either chuck the bananas in the freezer or run to the store the next time if I don't have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I was looking for an easy recipe to use up some going bad bananas. This bread turned out great! I left out the walnuts, chocolate chips, used organic sugar, substituted a half cup of all purpose for whole wheat flour and it tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
OMG, it was awesome!!! My 8yr old watched the recipe in video and then whip it up with me. She really wanted chocolate bread, So, I have sub. in 1/4 cup of flour with cocoa powder. I didn't have chocolate chip and just chopped in the semi-sweet ghirardelli square chocolate. Definitely need the full 1 hr and 10 mins. I took it out 5 mins early and the middle part has a brownie texture. Still taste amazing. DD sprinkle some sugar on top of the loaf and it was so crunchy good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Chao

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
OMG! This is so good. It was gone in 24 hours. I did have one problem. After an hour I checked it and it was over done on the outside, but it was not done on the inside. I put it back in for 10 more minutes and the inside was done. I almost wonder if just turning down the oven to 300 would solve that problem. This is my go to recipe for banana bread now! I left out the walnuts and added one cup of semi sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer13
Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This recipe turned out great! I doubled the recipe. I did add a sprinkle of nutmeg and allspice and about 1 tsp of cinnamon. Didn't use nuts but added a bit more chocolate chips. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Made this without the nuts and chocolate chips and it was great. really moist with just the right banana taste. Can't wait to try it with the nuts and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States