Chef John's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Watch Chef John's video, worth it. Like many people, I made changes to the recipe for healthy(er) choices. Plant based vs man created junk IMO I used Organic Coconut Oil Carrington Farms(Costco)Solid form instead of Butter Almond Milk instead of Dairy Milk Truvia Baking Blend Sugar 1/2 cup instead of 1 cup regular sugar The batter seemed to be a little bit thicker which may have to do with the coconut oil and Truvia changes. I folded in the dry ingredients just until incorporated. Didn't over stir. It looks, raises well in the middle, not a flat top loaf at all, and smells just like regular Banana Bread and tastes incredible. I'd say at least as good as the recipe without the changes, since I've had both kinds. Used 3 normal (about 3/4-1c) banana's and stayed with the same amounts on all the other ingredients and folded in the flour mixture.Baked in my Breville Convection Toaster Oven. I'll report back when my husband tastes it. Saved 30mg cholesterol/serving, 75% less sugar calories and lactose free. Hope this helps others who didn't want to take the plunge. It's really an excellent option and you aren't suffering on taste and texture. Something I learned a long time ago was if you don't like the splitting in the loaf, run a knife down the top middle of the batter, to avoid the typical splitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
After watching Chef John's video, made it and it was delicious! Came together very easily; couldn't wait until it came out of the oven at 9:45 p.m. This is definitely a 'keeper'! I e-mailed recipe plus photo I took on my phone to my daughter to try out. NancyT418
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I used canola oil instead of butter and still was very moist and tasty. I did butter the pan which gave it a nice crust! Went along with the cinnamon idea and agree with others on this. Also will use half the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianae
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is the first time I've ever made banana bread and wow so easy and so good! Made them into muffins instead of bread and ended up with 17 regular sized ones. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
We really enjoyed this bread! It was easy to make but came out very moist and flavorful. The only diversion made from the original recipe was that I used 3 mini-loaf pans instead of one large loaf pan. I baked the minis for approx. 35 min. at 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Second go around for this recipe. Didn't want to do a loaf. Doubled the recipe and did muffins instead. A little easier for this family with all the kids no longer at home. Me and my hubby can then just pull from the freezer, zap and enjoy with morning coffee. No walnuts this time but did add the choc chips. When the grandkids come this is a perennial favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omemee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Came out perfect q! Making another one today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I've made a lot of different banana breads but this is the BEST by far!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESUSANSWERS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
The recipe is okay, but Flour Bakery's is much better. Ran into the same issue with Chef John and several other recipes: 3 bananas - are they large bananas? Are they small? I'm sure that after you mashed them up you measured them, so please share the exact measure as not all bananas are the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cstarz

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States