Chef John's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I doubled the vanilla and added cinnamon and allspice and it was sooo good. Lasted less than 3 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Good, cut back on butter & sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made this banana cake today. I followed chef John's recipe exactly and the cake turned out well. I will most certainly make this cake again. Thank you chef John for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I have tried several of Chef John's recipes and have not been disappointed yet. I am a 65 yr. old guy who has always loved to cook, do some BBQ catering etc., however I am no baker. But...there laid 3 bananas that needed something done with them:-) I followed the directions exactly as this was one of my first tries baking anything. It was beautiful when it came out of the oven and tasted great. I was stunned:-) It did fall pretty badly after cooling though. Likely a result of my technique? I follewed the recipe exactly because I intended to review it. It blows my mind when a reviewer follows up their comments...good or bad...with the disclaimer that "I changed everything about it" ?!? Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This is the best banana bread recipe EVER! I used 1/2 tsp. vanilla and maybe 3 and 1/2 bananas. (My 2 year old was in charge of peeling and putting the bananas in a bowl, but when I looked back at her she was eating one. I added the 1/2 banana to make sure I covered what she ate.) I left out the nuts and chocolate chips...but not one missed them because this is SO GOOD! Follow Chef John's video and you will make it perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Jervis, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Best Banana bread ever! I decreased the sugar to 2/3 cup, I also used raisins . I used 3/4cup walnuts & 1/4 cup raisins I used 1 tsp cinnamon & 1/2 tsp of allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I followed the instructions exactly except for the addition of one tsp vanilla per loaf since I doubled the recipe. For the reviewers who pronounced the bread too dry, 3 things come to mind: the size of eggs matters; Lg or XLg are needed; make sure your butter is room temperature, eggs also. Don't add all the flour at once to the wet ingredients, stir in 1/3 to 1/2 C at a time. My family loves the bread, proclaiming it delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This is a terrific recipe. I have made this countless times and I've changed the ingredients from walnuts to pecans. I've added currants seeped in bourbon or golden raisins and of course always the chocolate chips. I've doubled it and made mini loaves for gifts. I can't tell you the number of return phone calls I get asking for another loaf. Most of my friends are foodies and I am an avid recipe tester. Even though I have many banana bread recipes this is the one I make the most. Rose Ann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This is the best receive I've made yet!!! Can't seem to keep it in the house---got two in the oven right now I added a little bit more vanilla, since my family don't care for chocolate chips I cheated and added some white chocolate chips,raisins( pre-soaked in hot water---plumps them up I think??)and walnut and taffee bits----after all that---still got a moist and so delish banana bread. My guys are really fussy so one has to try and stay on top of things especially when your son is a chef?? Big props and many thanks to you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
So good! I've probably made this recipe about 10 times now. I usually leave out the nuts (because I'm too cheap), add a few extra chocolate chips, and sometimes even use only 2 bananas and it's still good. I prefer it super cold, straight out of the fridge. I've gotten many requests to make it over again. I do find that I have to bake it for an extra 10 minutes to fully cook the top where it splits open, but that might just be because of my oven or my glass loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States