Chef John's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I have been using this same basic recipe(without the nuts or chocolate chips) for the last 35 years, although I do use a full teaspoon of vanilla. Nearly everyone who tries it asks me for the recipe and I'm glad to oblige! It's good with walnuts, but I like it better with pecans. Try it with cinnamon chips, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandyg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Seneca, New York, USA
Living In: Olean, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Made just as written. Baked only one hour. A bit on the dry side and not extremely flavorful. Will try another recipe next time. Probably one using veggie oil instead of butter. I have both zucchini bread and pumpkin bread recipes using veggie oil that always turn out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
i used a bundt cake pan and baked it for 45minutes. came out great and it was very moist. thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THUNDERKATZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
just some small changes - increased vanilla to 1/2 tsp, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg, and it was PERFECT. Best Banana Bread I've ever made, and I've tried soooo many recipes. I loved the choc chips in it, too. This one goes in my permanent recipe box. Now I'm going to have to buy bananas and make sure nobody eats them, specifically so they become over-ripe and I can make more of this banana bread. My whole family wants MORE and I'm out of bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Banana bread is one of those things that you like, but, eh, you don't really CRAVE it....except this one! It's so yummy, my neices and nephews actually save bananas for me to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is the best recipe I have ever made. No need to make any changes! You should try Chef John's Pot Roast recipe! He's the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I'm not a banana person but this bread was delish! Of course my hubby is not a chocolate person and he would prefer not having the chocolate chips, but he was over ruled by everyone in the house! This bread flew over the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This is THE BEST banana bread ever! I love to try it with all kinds of chopped nuts and chocolate and you can never go wrong with an extra banana. Ive been making this recipe for 3 months now and its always come out perfect. My husband loves it and we often fight for the last piece. Thank you so much for sharing this Chef John, I'm definitely going to try your other recipe's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I've been looking for a great banana bread recipe, as my other recipe is more of a banana cake. This is a great recipe to follow for a more bread like consistency. I added an extra banana and up'ed the choco-chips to about 3/4 cups. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
First time making banana bread. I read some other recipes and decided to use 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I also cut the flour by 1/4 cup and added 1TBls( that's right) of cinnamon. Absolutely fabulous!!!! Nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States