Chef John's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lesleytricia
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
Used a teaspoon of vanilla and 3/4 teaspoon salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
I love Chef John's recipes and rarely need to tweak them in any way, but I simply could not make banana bread without adding cinnamon! lol So I did throw in a teaspoon and for good measure, I grated in some fresh nutmeg (love that stuff!). Beyond that my only other changes were to use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, I upped the vanilla to 1 teaspoon and to lighten it up a bit I used unsweetened apple sauce in place of the butter (I do this in almost all of my baking recipes). So yummy, moist and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
The first time I made this bread (as per recipe) I thought it was a little dry. Here are the changes I made to suit us. I reduced the flour to 1 3/4 cups and used a very full cup of bananas. Rather than the milk I subtituted yoghurt (or sour cream). Very happy with the end result but also I usually find I need to reduce our flour here by a few tablespoon. Guess it is a slightly different one. Thanks for an excellent recipe just had to make a few changes for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I thought this was good. It reminded me of a mix between banana bread and a lunch box snack cake with the choc chips and walnuts. I followed the recipe exactly, only using mini choc chips. I only wish it was a little lower in calories. I wanted to try this though the first time as is. It is dense and yet very moist as others suggested. Despite the nuts and choc it is still heavy on banana flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by NurseCarol1974
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Followed the recipe except substituted pecans for walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseCarol1974

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Great recipe! The best banana bread! Thank you Chef John for sharing! My daughter is v fussy about cake and yet she likes this cake/bread that i make. You are appreciated :) ..... from Singapore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
Love this bread. I think I need to chop up the chocolate chips. Doesn't matter, it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Donald

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
This is the only kind of receipe for banana bread. Wonderful I do add lots of chopped walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This banana bread is perfect without any changes. I also love how it instructs you to add ingredients in a particular way to avoid over-mixing. The end result is delicious, moist, and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole Watt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Moist & delicious! I substituted unsweetened apple sauce for the butter. Ever time for need a recipe by Chef John I know I'm going to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States