Chef John's Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is by far the best recipe I have found!! Love it and will continue to use it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This bread was ok. I found it to be a little on the dry side even though I didn't cook it as long as it said. I think I might try another recipe to see if I can find one that is a little more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Exceptionally moist and holds together like a dream. I leave out the walnuts as my house is not a fan, but the chocolate chips add a lovely element. I have thrown in some spices, namely nutmeg and cinnamon, to vary the flavor and color. And if you run short on bananas, I have substituted part of the banana mash for peeled mashed pear. It gives it a bit of a different taste profile, and used up my pears that were too mushy to eat otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Bladen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Chef John I have been making banana bread for over 50 years and have loved every bite and gave it to those who love it as much as I do. So I took a look to see what trick you might have because I do love your style. I must now endeavor to apologize to everyone who ever tasted the "other" breads! This is the best I have ever eaten, whether my recipe or theirs! Just awesome. The devil made me do it but I had to do a "tweek' I added a few more chips and a bit of sour cream. .Not that it is a must because there seemed no suggestion of it in the finished product. Thank You again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
The banana bread turned out so good. Since my husband and I are trying to reduce our sugar intake, I reduced the butter to ¼ cup and added heart healthy items such as ground flax seeds, raisin, almond and carrot paste. It turned out fantastic and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
There is no better recipe for banana bread, at least in my experience. I do add sour cream instead of milk, and if you toast the walnuts first, it takes it to another level. It's easy to double the recipe and make two loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MexicoKaren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bucerias, Nayarit, Mexico
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
My college daughter loved it and so did my husband. But I like the traditional banana bread better without chocolate chips. I guess I was never crazy about chocolate chips anyway. I think I will skip those next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Dear Chef John, AWESOME BREAD, back in 2005 I a dear friend passed away and she gave me a receipe for Banana bread and it was almost identical in ingredients (she may have gotten this from you) Iused it for years, then ONE DAY, I misplaced it, couldn't for the life of me find it again. THEN I happened on your receipe WHAT A LIVESAVER, I have baked this Banana bread for my son and family and they are in awe of how moist this is. Now for Thanksgiving 2014 making about 3 loaves for dinner and give aways. Sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Lahey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Conservatively Yours
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
The flavor of this bread is remarkable. I tried the very highly rated banana bread on this site and was wildly unimpressed. Contrarily, this bread brings lots of flavor with a delightful surprise of chocolate. I must chorus Chef John's suggestion that this bread is the perfect accompaniment to a fresh cup of coffee. I followed the reviewers' suggestions and added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Conservatively Yours

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I have made this recipe 3 times now, but this time I put in 1/4 tps cinnamon, I increased the vanilla to 1/2 tps & the chocolate chips to a 1/2 cup using dark & semi sweet chips. I also used half & half instead of my milk.... Final outcome was amazing my boyfriend likes this one the best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States