Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Outta the park - what a wonderful dish! The simplicity and ease makes this a treat to be repeated. We had arborio in the pantry, but will invest in carnaroli soon. We had a lot of shallots on hand, so used them - and we had baby bellas, but next time will use whites for a "brighter" dish. Sweet Italian sausage and salad on the side, and a Crane Lake petite sirah.... Chef John, what an inspiration you are. Your blog site and videos give me great joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This came out very grainy. Too much time in the kitchen for serving at my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Another winner, Chef John! I made this the old school way on the stove top since I don't have an oven safe skillet and it turned out perfectly! I only made a couple of minor changes: 1) I used an entire onion as I never manage to use the last half of a used onion, 2) used Baby Bella mushrooms, 3) for the final liquid addition I used 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1/4 heavy cream, and 1/4 cup stock, 4) used perhaps 1/4 to 1/3 cup of Parmesan, and 5) 1/2 to 1 Tbsp cream to finish. It tastes wonderful! Creamy and delicious and just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is my second time making this and it was wonderful each time. My husband objects to the texture of mushrooms but loves the flavor. This time I omitted all of the mushrooms in favor of Classic Mushroom Stock made by More than Gourmet. I added this I diluted (it is a thick gel) right after coating the rice with butter. From there I followed the recipe exactly. It did not suffer in the least. It had great mushroom flavor without the mushroom bits that hubby dislikes. I love not having to devote the better part of an hour to stir the risotto. I will never go back to the old way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Hart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I love ordering Risotto when I go out to dinner. I now can make the same delicious risotto at home and everyone loves it! It is fairly simple to make and it goes with steak or chicken. A delicious dish all around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Yummy! Lots of flavour and easy to make. I followed this recipe exactly and I was very happy with the results. It makes too much for 2 people, exactly enough for 3 people but wouldn't be enough for 4 people. Next time I will make double the batch. Really, really good. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Simple and absolutely delicious! I used my dutch oven instead of a skillet and I did not add any salt because I used salted butter and with the large amount of broth it just was not necessary. Perfect flavor and texture. Thanks for another winner chef john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Love how easy this is and how you can add anything at the end you want. I added shrimp and white wine to mine and it was wonderful. Thanks again John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
First time I've made risotto and this was it! I'd never even cooked with Arborio rice before. Despite my mistake with adding the heavy cream before putting it into the oven (oops!), it was the bomb! I have to say that because we are such a garlic-loving family, I had to add 3 or 4 minced garlic cloves with the onion. Lovely outcome! Just wonderful! This will be on the table at least 3 times a month! Thanks for the recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Latham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Once again Chef John you have created a masterpiece! This risotto is as good as it gets. I put this on our menu to go with our fresh fish and even our beef filets and it was BEYOND the rave. All the diners LOVED the risotto. Way to go! Haven't tried it? You should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States