Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Excellent! Very creamy and the rice was cooked to perfection . Followed the recipe very closely, just adding slightly more onion, used organic chicken broth , added NO additional salt and everyone thought it perfect. As a minimal salt user, I still find broth is salty, and this worked out just right. Thanks Chef John, a hit as usual.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Dover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Perfect every time and you can create your own variations too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Thanks chef John for this fantastic risotto. I followed the directions exactly and my very first risotto turned out like a pro. The cool thing is that the 15 minutes in the over freed me up to finish the rest of my meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
WOOHOO!! For being so inexperienced and never making anything like this before, it turned out awesome! I watched the video over and over while making it, thank you Chef John for making it look so easy! I also learned a great tip, you can put tin foil over plastic handles on your skillet and it will protect them in the oven! Next time I will add a little more garlic, but overall, YUMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Love

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Just wonderful...absolutely loved it! Didn't deviate too much from the recipe; substituted light cream for the whipping cream and used arborio rice. Cooked in a cast iron frying pan. It didn't need the 2 tbsps. of cream at the end and I didn't have chives. Turned out better than any risotto I have ever made before and so much easier. I will be making again and sharing the recipe with others. Thanks so much Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made this last night and it was fantastic. I love risotto and make it often, but did not have time to be held hostage at my stove stirring and ladling last night. I've used Ina's baked risotto in the past but came across Chef John's yesterday and decided to give it a try. I made a few modifications based on what I had in the house...broccoli instead of mushrooms and added a bit of chopped garlic and white wine. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly and it was absolutely perfect. Loved being able to stick in the oven for 15 minutes and walk away. Awesome recipe. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was the easiest risotto recipe I've tried, and the most delicious. I would make it again. Recipe easy to follow--love Chef John's videos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was delicious. I've never made risotto before and it came out great. I substituted Arborio rice and it worked perfectly. I don't think it needs as much salt though. Next time I'll just lightly salt the mushrooms and not add anymore after that. I used low-sodium chicken broth as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I have made this exactly like Chef John in the video twice now. My husband and I love it. It will become a weekly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States