Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This is an easy recipe to make and it turns out great every time. Perfect for company dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Absolutely fabulous! This recipe was so much easier than the standard method of making risotto. Cooking it in the oven for part of time freed me up for doing other things to finish preparing my meal. The rice was perfectly tender and creamy and had great flavor. I used arborio rice instead because it is what I had in my pantry. I also used my dutch oven because I didn't have an pan that was oven proof to 400 degrees. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Another of Chef John's incredible recipes. My husband and I could not get enough of this. As always, I follow his recipe exactly. Cudos, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I loved this recipe. I like cooking but I've never made risotto. This risotto was so easy and it was ready to eat pretty quickly too. I used arborio rice because I couldn't find carnaroli rice anywhere. I used low-sodium vegetable broth because I'm a vegetarian. I forgot to add the Parmesan (and 2 TBSP of cream) at the end, so I just sprinkle the cheese on top each time before I reheat it. This keeps well in the fridge and actually tastes better the next day. This will definitely be on my regular menu, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
This was delicious! I was just to the point of adding rice when I realized my jar of Arborio rice was empty. I had to make this with Jasmine Rice and it was still amazing. The mushrooms added the perfect flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I have made this recipe many times, each time it has turned out perfect, I've added asparagus and it was yummy. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hamburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Amazing recipe! I followed it exactly except I used Arborio rice because that's all we had. It was perfect! My wife said it was better than hers! And she's a great cook! It's in our rotation and only I can make it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Ilich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I have made this recipe about fifty times because my husband can't get enough. It is a VERY good recipe. I use arborio rice instead, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Outta the park - what a wonderful dish! The simplicity and ease makes this a treat to be repeated. We had arborio in the pantry, but will invest in carnaroli soon. We had a lot of shallots on hand, so used them - and we had baby bellas, but next time will use whites for a "brighter" dish. Sweet Italian sausage and salad on the side, and a Crane Lake petite sirah.... Chef John, what an inspiration you are. Your blog site and videos give me great joy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This came out very grainy. Too much time in the kitchen for serving at my dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Chef John's Baked Lemon Pepper Salmon

Make this healthy dish with your favorite wild salmon.

Chef John's Farro with Wild Mushrooms

Delicious dish with farro, wild mushrooms and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States