Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I love ordering Risotto when I go out to dinner. I now can make the same delicious risotto at home and everyone loves it! It is fairly simple to make and it goes with steak or chicken. A delicious dish all around
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Yummy! Lots of flavour and easy to make. I followed this recipe exactly and I was very happy with the results. It makes too much for 2 people, exactly enough for 3 people but wouldn't be enough for 4 people. Next time I will make double the batch. Really, really good. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North York, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Simple and absolutely delicious! I used my dutch oven instead of a skillet and I did not add any salt because I used salted butter and with the large amount of broth it just was not necessary. Perfect flavor and texture. Thanks for another winner chef john!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Love how easy this is and how you can add anything at the end you want. I added shrimp and white wine to mine and it was wonderful. Thanks again John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
First time I've made risotto and this was it! I'd never even cooked with Arborio rice before. Despite my mistake with adding the heavy cream before putting it into the oven (oops!), it was the bomb! I have to say that because we are such a garlic-loving family, I had to add 3 or 4 minced garlic cloves with the onion. Lovely outcome! Just wonderful! This will be on the table at least 3 times a month! Thanks for the recipe Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Latham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Once again Chef John you have created a masterpiece! This risotto is as good as it gets. I put this on our menu to go with our fresh fish and even our beef filets and it was BEYOND the rave. All the diners LOVED the risotto. Way to go! Haven't tried it? You should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I have made this exactly like Chef John in the video twice now. My husband and I love it. It will become a weekly meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This was delicious. I've never made risotto before and it came out great. I substituted Arborio rice and it worked perfectly. I don't think it needs as much salt though. Next time I'll just lightly salt the mushrooms and not add anymore after that. I used low-sodium chicken broth as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was the easiest risotto recipe I've tried, and the most delicious. I would make it again. Recipe easy to follow--love Chef John's videos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made this last night and it was fantastic. I love risotto and make it often, but did not have time to be held hostage at my stove stirring and ladling last night. I've used Ina's baked risotto in the past but came across Chef John's yesterday and decided to give it a try. I made a few modifications based on what I had in the house...broccoli instead of mushrooms and added a bit of chopped garlic and white wine. Otherwise followed the recipe exactly and it was absolutely perfect. Loved being able to stick in the oven for 15 minutes and walk away. Awesome recipe. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John’s Boston Baked Beans

See how to make sweet-and-savory homemade baked beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States