Chef John's Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was great. I didn't add the cream though, didn't understand the purpose of the cream with salsa and oil. I'm going to make this for supper one night so my hubs can enjoy it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RobBroad4th
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Another Chef John winner! Great flavors and a nice change from our typical egg recipes. We added more eggs and used a bigger ramekin but it still turned out excellent. Quick, easy, and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. But if like me you are picky about exactly how your egg is cooked, it is much easier to control the egg if you poach it and then pour the other stuff (hot) over your perfectly cooked egg. My leftover marinara sauce had some sausage in it which was a great addition. It is no longer "baked" eggs, but it is still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I had to subtitute few things and it tasted delicious. I can't wait to make another next time with proper ingridients. It'd taste so much better I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Oh...my...goodness! Best...breakfast...ever! This was so easy to make and the reward is so great! I must try this with company! I easily knocked 90 calories off the recipe by using half the oil and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I've never had huevos rancheros, so I can't speak to whether it tastes similar, but this was really good. I had to make a couple of substitutions to make this work with what I had on hand, and to keep this fitting into my current dietary requirements, but even so - it was delicious! I don't have any ramekins, so I used a deep metal individual sized pie tin, lightly greased and it set perfectly in this. I also substituted the cream with a cauliflower puree - gave it that wonderful creamy texture but I didn't miss the real cream at all! The cauli puree has many variations but what I used today was: Approx 75g frozen cauliflower pieces (thawed first), 1 tsp powdered chicken or beef stock base (optional, but I wanted it to be more savory), 2Tbsp milk (I use low fat, but use whatever you have on hand - I've tried almond milk before and found it tasted more sweet than creamy though), 1/2 tsp oil (I like olive or macadamia nut oil but I suppose any will work), 1/2 tsp minced garlic - I used my bullet blender to puree, and added water along the way to get to desired consistency. Then add to recipe in place of cream. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahill
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Tried this recipe today and hubby and I loved it! The only thing I did different was break up the yolks after about 10 minutes in the oven since I dislike slightly runny eggs and placed back in the oven for about another 5 minutes. I will be definitely making this again! Thanks Chef John you've never failed me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This recipe is great. I love making this in the morning before work. It always keeps me full until lunch time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
One word - YUM!!! Made this for the first time last night and am tempted to make it again tonight. Hard to believe but my husband who likes everything said he "could eat it" if I made it again. In future I'll be making this fabulous dish just for me and he can have PBJ instead! The only change I made was to omit the heavy cream because we're counting calories. I did not omit the olive oil because it's so good and so good for you!! Thanks Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I have made this at least six times for my boyfriend and I for breakfast. We absolutely adore it. I follow the recipe pretty closely except I add a little less red pepper flakes. I also use seasoned parmesan. For the marinara sauce I use a small can of Hunts tomato sauce. I also like to lightly scramble the eggs prior to baking. A wonderful and different breakfast. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States