Chef John's Baked Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Tried this last year, was so impressed with the ease of fixing eggs without the frying pan. The marina sauce was an interesting tweek. Since then have tried this with sausage gravy, cheesy grits, cheesy hash browns, corned beef hash. If it can go into a 9x9 casserole dish, in it went and topped with eggs. Makes a great brunch or light dinner. Way to go Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My dogs and I loved this!!! Unfortunately, my husband couldn't enjoy this, too, because tomatoes cause inflammation in his joints. Oh well, more for me :) !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ridgefield, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was great. I didn't add the cream though, didn't understand the purpose of the cream with salsa and oil. I'm going to make this for supper one night so my hubs can enjoy it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RobBroad4th
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Another Chef John winner! Great flavors and a nice change from our typical egg recipes. We added more eggs and used a bigger ramekin but it still turned out excellent. Quick, easy, and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is absolutely delicious. But if like me you are picky about exactly how your egg is cooked, it is much easier to control the egg if you poach it and then pour the other stuff (hot) over your perfectly cooked egg. My leftover marinara sauce had some sausage in it which was a great addition. It is no longer "baked" eggs, but it is still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I had to subtitute few things and it tasted delicious. I can't wait to make another next time with proper ingridients. It'd taste so much better I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Oh...my...goodness! Best...breakfast...ever! This was so easy to make and the reward is so great! I must try this with company! I easily knocked 90 calories off the recipe by using half the oil and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I've never had huevos rancheros, so I can't speak to whether it tastes similar, but this was really good. I had to make a couple of substitutions to make this work with what I had on hand, and to keep this fitting into my current dietary requirements, but even so - it was delicious! I don't have any ramekins, so I used a deep metal individual sized pie tin, lightly greased and it set perfectly in this. I also substituted the cream with a cauliflower puree - gave it that wonderful creamy texture but I didn't miss the real cream at all! The cauli puree has many variations but what I used today was: Approx 75g frozen cauliflower pieces (thawed first), 1 tsp powdered chicken or beef stock base (optional, but I wanted it to be more savory), 2Tbsp milk (I use low fat, but use whatever you have on hand - I've tried almond milk before and found it tasted more sweet than creamy though), 1/2 tsp oil (I like olive or macadamia nut oil but I suppose any will work), 1/2 tsp minced garlic - I used my bullet blender to puree, and added water along the way to get to desired consistency. Then add to recipe in place of cream. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ahill
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Tried this recipe today and hubby and I loved it! The only thing I did different was break up the yolks after about 10 minutes in the oven since I dislike slightly runny eggs and placed back in the oven for about another 5 minutes. I will be definitely making this again! Thanks Chef John you've never failed me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This recipe is great. I love making this in the morning before work. It always keeps me full until lunch time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States