Chef John's Baked Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Excellent....I doubled the recipe and made this into actual sandwiches on ciabatta rolls... they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Hi, everyone:) love this recipe! Made many changes for diet restrictions salt/fat. First,no aluminum foil,set directly on olive oil sprayed pan. This omitted having to turn them, they browned on both perfectly. I used olive oil spray on pan and sandwich tops before oven. I found King Arthur gluten free all purpose flour,used that and instead of salt/pepper in flour I used garlic pepper. Gives it a great flavor. I added Red Hot into the egg dip. I used 4C seasoned unsalted bread crumbs a staple here with no salt and just the best flavor.The cheese was a challenge, used deli swiss at first cut in half but found it was too much cheese and they leaked. So next batch I switched to the party pre-cuts, smaller perfect amount with no leakage. I also tried the shredded cheese which i thought wouldn't stay in upon dipping but it actually worked fine. Instead of salami slices I used Margherita low sodium pepperoni bag using 4 slices to a sandwich and it was just enough. Last, I keep a mixture of 1/2 grated parmesan cheese and 1/2 4C seasoned unsalted breadcrumbs with garlic pepper in a container in the refrigerator at all times because we use it for everything.It's usually 2c./2c./1 tablespoon. until you figure out how much garlic pepper works for your family. Because of using mixture no parmesan topping needed.Used aluminum foil to cover once browned about 30 minutes. Used 2 pieces of eggplant per sandwich. The olive oil spray and other changes really cut back on /salt/fat:)Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
this recipe taught me to love eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
We loved this recipe at our house! My husband is a meat lover so he, of course, wanted the salami. I, on the other hand, could do without meat on most occasions so I actually put the provolone cheese and a slice of tomato on mine in place of the salami. Delicious! I would give it another star if I could because my year and a half old loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Everyone in the family absolutely LOVES this just as is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
EXCLLENT! I used buffalo mozzarella in place of provolone, personal preference only. Placed fresh basil between layers. These are delicious warm or at room temperature. I couldn't tell you how they would taste as leftovers - because there weren't any! Only change I would make next time is one less slice of salami in each sandwich to cut down on the salt level. I cut these in quarters and used them as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I loved the ease in making these and because they can be served warm or at room temperature, they would be perfect quartered and served as appetizers. I thought they were very good and will try them again using pepperoni and other ingredients for the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Wow! This recipe is fantastic, even more delicious that I expected and a big hit at my house! It is even delicious reheated the next day. I've come to trust Chef John and will usually choose his recipes over any others. Thank you, Chef, for all your great contributions to my favorite recipe site, from my now favorite contributor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coalport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This was my first experience, so I did take the time to peel and salt the eggplant slices. Didn't want to be turned off to the taste of eggplant right off the bat. I didn't have cayenne pepper, so I subbed paprika and I think it had a fantastic flavor. My only concern was that, just after eating my first 'samwich', I saw the nutrtional values and was appalled. 58 carbs? 150 fat? 2000 cals? Whaa...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I love eggplant and this was a great way to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States