Chef John's Baked Eggplant Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
going to try this sounds great and i worked the calories and it is closer to 230 per servings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was sooooo good. I was a little afraid because it was so simple, no spices. I tried it and it is great. The salami gave it a perfect flavor. I was going to freeze some, but I'm eating one every day for breakfast instead. A must try if you are an eggplant fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Hi, everyone:) love this recipe! Made many changes for diet restrictions salt/fat. First,no aluminum foil,set directly on olive oil sprayed pan. This omitted having to turn them, they browned on both perfectly. I used olive oil spray on pan and sandwich tops before oven. I found King Arthur gluten free all purpose flour,used that and instead of salt/pepper in flour I used garlic pepper. Gives it a great flavor. I added Red Hot into the egg dip. I used 4C seasoned unsalted bread crumbs a staple here with no salt and just the best flavor.The cheese was a challenge, used deli swiss at first cut in half but found it was too much cheese and they leaked. So next batch I switched to the party pre-cuts, smaller perfect amount with no leakage. I also tried the shredded cheese which i thought wouldn't stay in upon dipping but it actually worked fine. Instead of salami slices I used Margherita low sodium pepperoni bag using 4 slices to a sandwich and it was just enough. Last, I keep a mixture of 1/2 grated parmesan cheese and 1/2 4C seasoned unsalted breadcrumbs with garlic pepper in a container in the refrigerator at all times because we use it for everything.It's usually 2c./2c./1 tablespoon. until you figure out how much garlic pepper works for your family. Because of using mixture no parmesan topping needed.Used aluminum foil to cover once browned about 30 minutes. Used 2 pieces of eggplant per sandwich. The olive oil spray and other changes really cut back on /salt/fat:)Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These are absolutely delicious and the possibilities are endless! We happen to be gluten free/dairy free, along with a few other allergens, so we had to miss out on the best parts of this recipe and it was STILL fabulous!! Love it! We were surprised at how nice and crisp the eggplant was and how perfectly it worked as "sandwich bread." This is a terrific Paleo recipe when made with Almond Flour (as we did).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Rating this a 5 for taste and simplicity. Makes a great weeknight dinner. I subbed fontina for the provolone because that was what I had on hand and served with warm marinara - because my husband has to have sauce! I did peel the eggplant and salt it to eliminate the bitterness (just a personal preference.). These were very simple to make. Much less work than frying the eggplant - and healthier too! The only thing that I found odd was that it called for 16 slices of eggplant to make 4 sandwiches. Not sure what I should do with the extra slices of eggplant :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vabeachgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I love eggplant and this was a great way to enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
EXCLLENT! I used buffalo mozzarella in place of provolone, personal preference only. Placed fresh basil between layers. These are delicious warm or at room temperature. I couldn't tell you how they would taste as leftovers - because there weren't any! Only change I would make next time is one less slice of salami in each sandwich to cut down on the salt level. I cut these in quarters and used them as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Everyone in the family absolutely LOVES this just as is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
We loved this recipe at our house! My husband is a meat lover so he, of course, wanted the salami. I, on the other hand, could do without meat on most occasions so I actually put the provolone cheese and a slice of tomato on mine in place of the salami. Delicious! I would give it another star if I could because my year and a half old loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
this recipe taught me to love eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Chef John's Cheesy Crackers

See how to make delicious homemade cheesy crackers.

Chef John’s Fried Padrón Peppers

See how incredibly easy it is to make these tasty blistered peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States