Chef John's Bacon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Has anyone tried canning this , would be great to always have a jar on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made this recipe for my hubsand's valentine's day gift!!! It is amazing!!! I only used two very large yellow onions and 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and two tablespoons sherry wine because that was all I had! It was still awesome with those changes. I also loved that it wasn't super sweet or barbecue like. My husband is one happy guy right now :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie monster crunch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I used more like 2 pounds of bacon, dried thyme, and sherry wine. Cooked for longer than instructed, trying to get 'brick red' color. SO good. Would it be illegal to just eat this with a spoon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This makes a great topping for some sandwiches, baked potatoes, mixed with a little cream cheese and stuffed inside a chicken breast. The possibilities.... This was a great find
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babes_Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made Chef John's Bacon Jam pretty much as written. I didn't have sherry vinegar, so used apple cider vinegar, and I added 1/4 cup black coffee and 1/4 cup water instead of the 1/2 cup water. I used 1 large and 3 medium onions, so the onion ratio was just right for my taste. I ended up with two half-pint jars full, plus a little extra for tasting. Next time I'll probably only use half of the thyme, but it is delicious! I'll be making this again! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Everyone really loved this! I served it with sliced baguette that I toasted with a little garlic butter. Does anyone know how long it will keep in the fridge? As usual Chef John is awesome! Making his lasagna for a Christmas Party on Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
OMG! OMG! OMG! This is the best appetizer to pass my lips, ever! Trust me, it is not hard, but it takes some time to make. SO.............worth it. I think I was afraid I would burn it, so it took me quite awhile to make. Once I turned the heat up a bit, it went faster. This is DELICIOUS. Coudos to Chef John AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenkathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
My primary criticism of this recipe is that it's FAR too onion heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
OK, since everyone raved about this, I made a double batch and it's still on the stove getting nice and brown. It smells amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I love the idea of this recipe. I was recently in Savannah, GA & had dinner at a great little place out of the main area. We had a beef mash that sounds very similar to this recipe. Please rate, if anyone has tried it with beef. Or maybe Chef John will try it & let us know!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Jam

A sweet, smoky, savory spread for biscuits, burgers, and more.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States