Chef John's Bacon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MCabrera75
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Amazing and addictive! I made as written with the exception of using red wine vinegar since I didn't have sherry vinegar on hand and did not use butter or olive oil, just used extra bacon grease. I know, not so healthy, but hey, it's BACON! :) Next time, I'm going to try it with apple cider vinegar because it was just a little bit too sweet for me. I do believe this is what my food loving friends and family is getting for Christmas this year! I brought some to work and my coworkers really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Wow. just made this and had some with dinner. YUM. Why did I wait so long to try this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I want to be fair in my review and say that I'm not a huge bacon fan.(yes - we DO exist!!!) I like bacon - a couple slices with breakfast or some bacon bits in salads, but that's about the extent of my affection. I don't like bacon flavored things or meats wrapped and cooked/grilled in bacon. That being said, I didn't love this recipe. I really wanted to. At first I thought it was too sweet, then I realized I had forgotten the salt. I added it after it had turned brick red and then thought it was too salty (maybe you're not supposed to do that?). Anyway, I can't say for sure that Bacon lovers will LOVE it, although the rest of the reviews seem to point in that direction....but, if you're not a huge fan of bacon, then this may not be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
U sir are hilarious! It's fun while learning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
This was very yummy. I decided to make it as a birthday gift for my bacon loving husband. I've never had "bacon jam" before so maybe its my expectations that left me somewhat disappointed. But I think "onion jam" would be much more accurate. The bacon was definitely not the star. It still tasted good but just not as I hoped. Honestly if I make it again I will double or maybe even triple the bacon. Overall everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adjala, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I made this recipe for my hubsand's valentine's day gift!!! It is amazing!!! I only used two very large yellow onions and 1/4 cup red wine vinegar and two tablespoons sherry wine because that was all I had! It was still awesome with those changes. I also loved that it wasn't super sweet or barbecue like. My husband is one happy guy right now :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie monster crunch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I used more like 2 pounds of bacon, dried thyme, and sherry wine. Cooked for longer than instructed, trying to get 'brick red' color. SO good. Would it be illegal to just eat this with a spoon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This makes a great topping for some sandwiches, baked potatoes, mixed with a little cream cheese and stuffed inside a chicken breast. The possibilities.... This was a great find
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babes_Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made Chef John's Bacon Jam pretty much as written. I didn't have sherry vinegar, so used apple cider vinegar, and I added 1/4 cup black coffee and 1/4 cup water instead of the 1/2 cup water. I used 1 large and 3 medium onions, so the onion ratio was just right for my taste. I ended up with two half-pint jars full, plus a little extra for tasting. Next time I'll probably only use half of the thyme, but it is delicious! I'll be making this again! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Everyone really loved this! I served it with sliced baguette that I toasted with a little garlic butter. Does anyone know how long it will keep in the fridge? As usual Chef John is awesome! Making his lasagna for a Christmas Party on Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Chef John's Bacon and Egg Doughnuts

Light and crispy doughnuts filled with bacon.

Chef John's Beef Rouladen

Discover one of the simplest stuffed meat recipes Chef John knows!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States