Chef John's Bacon Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I used more like 2 pounds of bacon, dried thyme, and sherry wine. Cooked for longer than instructed, trying to get 'brick red' color. SO good. Would it be illegal to just eat this with a spoon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This makes a great topping for some sandwiches, baked potatoes, mixed with a little cream cheese and stuffed inside a chicken breast. The possibilities.... This was a great find
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Babes_Mom
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made Chef John's Bacon Jam pretty much as written. I didn't have sherry vinegar, so used apple cider vinegar, and I added 1/4 cup black coffee and 1/4 cup water instead of the 1/2 cup water. I used 1 large and 3 medium onions, so the onion ratio was just right for my taste. I ended up with two half-pint jars full, plus a little extra for tasting. Next time I'll probably only use half of the thyme, but it is delicious! I'll be making this again! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Everyone really loved this! I served it with sliced baguette that I toasted with a little garlic butter. Does anyone know how long it will keep in the fridge? As usual Chef John is awesome! Making his lasagna for a Christmas Party on Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
OMG! OMG! OMG! This is the best appetizer to pass my lips, ever! Trust me, it is not hard, but it takes some time to make. SO.............worth it. I think I was afraid I would burn it, so it took me quite awhile to make. Once I turned the heat up a bit, it went faster. This is DELICIOUS. Coudos to Chef John AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenkathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
My primary criticism of this recipe is that it's FAR too onion heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
OK, since everyone raved about this, I made a double batch and it's still on the stove getting nice and brown. It smells amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I love the idea of this recipe. I was recently in Savannah, GA & had dinner at a great little place out of the main area. We had a beef mash that sounds very similar to this recipe. Please rate, if anyone has tried it with beef. Or maybe Chef John will try it & let us know!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Making double recipe for the third time - just great and everyone lives it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Followed directions, had all but sherry Vinger, Used sherry wine, cause that is what was in my Kitchen. Taste great, I'm looking forward to trying it on my hamburger tonight with the family! When it comes to my husband and Chef John, I know my husband will approve of recipe!My husband loves Chef John and thinks he is very funny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciecarole

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Jam

A sweet, smoky, savory spread for biscuits, burgers, and more.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States