Chef John's BLT Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made this tonight. It was pretty good, the only request being for more bacon. More bacon is good. The next time I’ll use a pound. As is my custom, I went through the comments looking for suggestions and found a few. Crème fraiche became sour cream. Ditalini pasta became Fred Mayer’s small stuff that was on sale two weeks ago. Argula became spinach. Maybe argula is finer chopped than spinach but four cups of chopped spinach just about overflowed my 12 inch by 1 ½ inch iron skillet. Next time I’ll cut back to three cups. I found a way to cut down on the mess from chopping spinach while at the same time getting it done faster and doing a better job. Having not ever seen a recipe requiring whole spinach leaves, I just chopped up the whole plastic container of Freddy’s baby spinach leaves using the scissor-like multi-bladed chopping tool that the boss cook bought on one of her Pampered Chef forays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Potlatch, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I placed the dish on the table and my child ask, "What is it?'. I say "BLT pasta". One child blurts out, "I don't like BLT". Clearly, you don't know the goodness of a BLT sandwich. But after one fork full, it was bliss. I could see it. Consequently, I had to make a second batch. Even, the tomatoes disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Love this recipe. I couldn't find crème fraiche so had to use sour cream, but it was still wonderful! Otherwise, no other changes were needed or wanted. Great recipe as written. Keep 'em coming, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
My husband and son loves it. This is one of our favorite now. Made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
It's fun, simple and DELICIOUS! Perfect recipe for my 5 year old son to help. The hardest part was keeping him from eating all the tomatoes beforehand. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4344chicago

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Fantastic dish, used baby spinach instead of arugula. The creme fraiche was supper easy to make. My daughter, who eats next to nothing, actually went back for three helpings. Can't wait to make this for friends, and more for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is delicious!! I switched and used sour cream and leaf spinach but made the rest as recipe called for. My husband doesn't usually like new recipes but went back for seconds on this! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunbar, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MeMyselfSoSly
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Turned out fantastic! Easy to follow directions! Couldn't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Made as directed but used greek yogurt instead of creme fraiche. Outstanding!!!! Next time, will add finely chopped onions and double the garlic. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Excellent Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States