Chef John's BLT Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I licked my plate! This was even better than I expected it to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I used full fat Greek Yogurt in place of the creme fraiche and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. Arugula isn't a favorite of mine so I substituted kale which had been cooked for a short time in chicken broth to "tenderize" it and make it less bitter. It worked well, the dark green very colorful with the tomatoes. Cut the recipe in half and there were no leftovers (husband dislikes eating leftovers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleescraga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Branch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I loved this and my husband went crazy for it. He asked me to make it again the very next week! Try it, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this with sour cream the first time and we really loved it. I added sun-dried tomatoes for a little more flavor. I wanted to try it with the creme fraiche, so I made it again. We preferred the tang the sour cream added for sure, so I'll be making it again and again but with the sour cream. I omitted the lemon as we didn't care for it in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Made this recipe tonite for dinner. It was excellent. The only change I made was instead of adding 2 cups of tomatoes, I only added one cup which was plenty. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I trimmed the fat on the bacon and cooked it without the oil. Used macaroni noodles since that's what I had and omitted the cayenne pepper. Used Chef John's recipe for crème fraiche but used 1 1/2 cup of it. After tossing it, I tasted it and it was missing something. I squeezed 1/2 lemon and that made a huge improvement. My husband loved it, my son not so much even though he's a fanatic of bacon. He didn't like the taste of arugula. I liked it. The arugula did over power the salad. The next time, I'm going to try fresh baby spinach and 1/2 the batch, except for the bacon, since it made a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was just ok. Arugula is not my favorite and I should have known the kids wouldn't like it but wanted to follow the recipe exactly the first time. The arugula overwhelmed the dish in my opinion and it didn't resemble a BLT at all because of that. I think perhaps with spinach or kale this would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Would have been lovely if AllRecipes hadn't converted "two cups" of pasta to "16 oz" of pasta. Really, I'll learn to ignore what they put on the shopping list - and beware if you haven't already noticed that little "feature". Other than needing double everything because it was too much pasta, it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I love this recipe and his other recipes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John’s Caramel Pork Belly

See how to make a sweet-and-spicy, Asian-inspired pork belly dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States