Chef John's Asparagus Souffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I love chef John's recipes, so it is hard for me to critizice him, but this soufflé had a very unappealing texture. When I took out of the oven it looked exactly like his in the video, so I was very excited...Not sure if I did something wrong, but I will not try it again to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This was delicious and not at all difficult! My husband is crazy and doesn't like asparagus, so I used thawed frozen spinach and artichoke hearts with a bit of garlic, and blended the mixture with sandwich slices of Swiss cheese because that was the only cheese I had, and it turned out BEAUTIFULLY. Can't wait to try this with all kinds of other veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Not sure what happened, we've made souffles before. But this one fell drastically, and the texture wasn't right - kind of mushy. We tried baking one longer but that didn't firm it up. The flavor wasn't good either - very bland, should have added salt and more garlic. The egg and asparagus didn't complement each other at all. Won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Absolutely awesome! I changed nothing except subbing white pepper for the cayenne (didn't have any). One caveat - it makes SIX ramekins, not four - if you watch the video Chef John makes four, but says that it will make six and he is reserving the rest of the mixture for another purpose. I never would have thought that garlic and cheese would work well with asparagus this way, but it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I really enjoyed making this side dish. It was fairly simple and was something a bit different for my crew! I think spinach would be good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This so tasty! Loved it. I love it's shape and looks.Hope that you can enjoy this as well as my family!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
After reading this recipe, I went to the store, bought the ingredients, and made it the same day. My husband and I loved it. I modified the recipe slightly with more garlic (two cloves which was a little too much even for us garlic lovers)and half whipping cream and half milk. I think I would have liked a little more salt. Also, this is a great, elegant side dish for a company meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My friend made this for Xmas dinner last night. It was delicious!! The texture is really light and a nice compliment to the heavy meat also we had. She served with red beets and the colors were beautifully festive!! The left overs i got to take home are still delicious. I'm going to try to make this at home. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Fantastic, going to try spinach next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This is delicious! I modified it as follows: instead of adding the pinch of cayenne, i added two teaspoons of hot curry powder and i used a whole clove of garlic.... the flavor was incredible and will def make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Asparagus Tart

See how to make a tasty pastry boat for floating your baked asparagus.

Chef John's Shaved Asparagus Salad

Fried pastrami strips and a simple mustard dressing are perfect with asparagus.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States