Chef Gerard's Award Winning Caesar Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Made for Recipe Group. This was just ok for me. It had a strong vinegar taste and I too added some sugar as it was a little tart. I blitzed it with the immersion blender. This is not at all what I thought a Caesar salad dressing is supposed to be as I thought they are usually white and have never heard of using tomatoes. But it was interesting. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Recipe Group Selection: 11, April 2015 ~ I love making salad dressings, and was looking forward to this very different version of Caesar salad dressing. One day after making this, I would have given it a 3-star rating, but after waiting 2 days, the flavors did mellow and blend much better. I made a half batch, using the wine and cut back some on the olive oil. I now have lots of fresh herbs to use in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Recipe Group Selection 4/2015. I put everything into my food processor except the olive oil and whizzed it to a smooth consistency. With the processor still going, I trickled in the olive oil until it was fully incorporated. After tasting I had to add sugar to get it to a flavor we liked. I was not wowed by the flavor of this dressing, but of course that could just be a matter of preference. I love trying different homemade dressings and I appreciate the opportunity to have tried this one. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Bueny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
"Chef Gerard's Award Winning Caesar Salad Dressing" met my expectations: I had hoped to be able to make a delicious gluten-free (no croutons) dairy-free (no Parmesan cheese) "Caesar Salad." I used white burgundy and white wine vinegar. I taste tested 4 brands of commercial stewed tomatoes for this recipe. I found "President's Choice" ("Original with Onions, Celery, and Garlic" and "Stewed Tomatoes with Italian Seasonings") to be superior to "Alymers" ("Diced Tomatoes with Italian Spice" and "Aylmer Accents with Italian Seasonings"). I chose "President's Choice" Original (no Italian seasonings). I followed the recipe instructions exactly (mortar and pestle, mixer - no blender) to give it a rustic presentation (tiny bits of bruised herbs throughout). On the first day I found that the flavor of my cold-pressed extra-virgin olive oil overwhelmed the other salad-dressing ingredients. I WOULD DEFINITELY USE A LIGHTER OLIVE OIL NEXT TIME. On the third day the flavor had mellowed out, and I balanced it with a little extra wine. I had made 2 "Caesar Salads" using this dressing for a birthday party (both with romaine lettuce, bacon, and room-temperature salad dressing): (i) a gluten-free dairy-free (GF/DF) version (with chickpeas and red onion); and (ii) a "regular version" (with croutons and Parmesan cheese). Ironically, everyone really enjoyed the GF/DF version (4 or 5 stars) but not the version with cheese (3 stars). Thank you Bueny for sharing your dad's recipe. [RECIPE GROUP]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
We really enjoyed this recipe by the late Chef Gerard Bueneman. I had never made nor eaten a "Caesar salad dressing" using these unique ingredients and was pleasantly surprised. By using my immersion blender, I created a creamy dressing by blending all of the ingredients together. The dressing was a little tart for us so I added 1 t. of sugar. Thank you, Bueny for sharing your father's recipe. It is definitely a keeper for me. This was the Buzz Recipe Group selection for April 11, 2015.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Recipe group pick April 2015...I was really looking forward to this recipe. I enjoy trying new things and "non-traditonal" ingredients or preparations have never scared me off, they inspire me. But I have to say this unique twist on a Caesar dressing didn't work for me. I did halve the recipe, but used exact measurements. It's extremely thick, and after 36 hours in the fridge this was tomato paste consistency. After warming a lots of shaking it came up to dressing consistency. Biggest concern, an overwhelming olive oil taste. I used a very good EVOO. After adding some anchovy paste and kosher salt I felt I could serve this, but hubs was disappointed with his salad. That makes me sad. Thanks for sharing your recipe, and the story of your dad with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I have been searching for one dressing like this...... Delight , Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea-didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This dressing is absolutely wonderful, Bueny! Can't help but wonder why it's called Caesar Dressing since the ingredients nor the flavor is anywhere near Chef Caesar Cardini's original creation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States