Cheezy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
We did quite a bit of revising to this recipe (due to supplies on hand). We used frozen potato wedges in place of the hashbrowns, french onion sour cream chip dip in place of the sour cream, and cream of mushroom in place of cream of potato. We didn't have shredded cheese, so we mixed all ingredients as directed, then placed cheese slices to cover on top, under the crushed potato chips (used way more chips than recipe called for too). We omitted the butter all together (seemed like it would be to greasy). Even with all the revisions, It came out quite well! Will definetly make again (maybe even the right way!). The kids loved it.... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This is a potluck favorite. The only revision I made was to increase the potatoes by about 1/2 lb. Just looked like it would be too soupy otherwise. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
We like this recipe but added more cheese and sour cream no chip ontop! Was great! Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Great dish - brought it for a Holiday party at work and everyone loved it. I recommend using half the amount of butter and extra potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Excellent and easy potatoes. I don't think I'd make for Thanksgiving or other formal affair but I will make again with other everyday main dishes! Also, I didn't add the potato chips...tasty without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Awesome!! Everyone wanted more and the recipe. It's a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
Very good recipe. Be sure to use an extra 1/2 lb. of potatoes and only 1/4 lb. of butter. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I give this five stars for how easy and yummy it is. i usually perfer not using canned soup but i needed somthing quick. To cut down on the time I first heated the potatoes through on the stove, this also makes them a little crispy. All I had was cream of chicken. I did not follow any of the measurements since I am only cooking for two and didn't know how much potatoes I was actually using. I just put it together so it was creamy enough. Used butter and bread crumbs insted of chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2004
Reaaly great, I sometimes put a chopped onion in & cream of chicken soup is I don't have potato, I also use the mexican or nacho cheese & put crusghed corn flakes with a little melted butter on top . Great Thanks Great for a crowd as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This is a favorite in my family, one we look for every holiday as our special treat. The only difference we've made to this recipe is to use corn flakes on top instead of potato chips. It's a little less fat and grease. ALWAYS a crowd pleaser and my son just "gobbles" it up at Thanksgiving! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States