Cheezy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I have made this recipe for years to rave reviews, with a couple of adjustments. I always put in a 2 lb. bag of hash browns instead of the 1 lb. that is called for here. Also I use cream of celery or cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of potato. Finally I add the crushed corn flakes mixed with a little butter on top to give it a little crispy topping and this is my holiday potato recipe. The best part is that it can be made ahead of time, like the day before (keep refrigerated), which is a big plus at holidays. Just don't put the crushed corn flakes/butter on top until ready to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This recipe was really good, almost tasted like my "loaded maashed potatoes. It was great with a few modifications: I peeled my own potatoes instead of using frozen has browns (about 9) and boiled them on the stove in water for about 30-45 minutes. Once they were cooked and drained, I mixed all of the ingredients together and substituted a can of cream of mushroom for cream of potato. I also added bacon bits and salt and pepper to the mixture. I only had to bake them for about 20-25 minutes since the potatoes had been boiled. Really delish! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SexyCadence311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is a good side dish. I did make a few modifications though. I didn't use all of the cheese that was suggested. 16oz seemed like quite a bit. I mixed 8 oz in with the potatoes and sprinkled about 1/2 cup on top. In addition, I mixed in 1/2 cup each of onions and green peppers. I omitted the potato chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2trips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Great dish - brought it for a Holiday party at work and everyone loved it. I recommend using half the amount of butter and extra potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Our family's favorite way to mix cheese and potatoes! This is a very cheesy dish, and I can't eat a lot at one time because of how rich it is, but boy is this a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
I liked this, though I wish there had been a higher potato vs. other stuff ratio. It was a little too saucy for me. I think I would use twice or half as much more potatoes next time. Also, I found the butter to be unneccessary; the grease from the cheese and the water from the potatoes seemed to provide plenty of liquid. I left off the potato chips and topped it with more cheese, which I allowed to melt and form a crust. I think you could make a "lower fat" version of this if you used low fat soup, cheese, and sour cream, etc... All in all, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Excellent and easy potatoes. I don't think I'd make for Thanksgiving or other formal affair but I will make again with other everyday main dishes! Also, I didn't add the potato chips...tasty without!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I used the basic recipe here with a few changes. I boiled 10 raw potatoes in water, cubed, for 30 minuites. Then drained and added to pan with cheese, cream of mushroom soup and sour cream (8 oz). I topped with cheese, bacon bits and potato chips. This received rave reviews from kids and adults alike! Thanks for a really nice crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Excellent recipe! I loved it.. Was so rich and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Doubled the potatoes, used a little less than half the butter recommended, and skipped the potato chips. Always a favorite at pot luck dinners. Occasionally, for a change, I add bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States