Cheezy Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
My grandma used to make this. She called them "funeral potatoes." I guess it's because it's the ultimate comfort food. Just a few minor changes - I don't add butter at all to the mixture, and I do add onions and garlic. Instead of corn flakes, we've always used Rice Chex. Use your melted butter with the cereal on top FTW. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was really good - I use to have a similar recipe that I loved even more..but I can't find it anywhere! Perhaps it wasn't quite the same because I used fresh potatoes instead of hashbrowns..but it was still really good and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I used the basic recipe here with a few changes. I boiled 10 raw potatoes in water, cubed, for 30 minuites. Then drained and added to pan with cheese, cream of mushroom soup and sour cream (8 oz). I topped with cheese, bacon bits and potato chips. This received rave reviews from kids and adults alike! Thanks for a really nice crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange City, Florida, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Doubled the potatoes, used a little less than half the butter recommended, and skipped the potato chips. Always a favorite at pot luck dinners. Occasionally, for a change, I add bacon pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I agree with the rest of the reviews to cut down the butter to 1/4. I also put corn flakes (instead of chips) on top after it was done baking, to add another texture. I brought this dish to a potluck :) Very delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
wow, creamy and delicious. i used regular potatoes and had to bake them longer. this was one of the best potato recipes i have ever tried and it will become a regular that i cook for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I omitted the chips and butter because of other reviews. I made this to use up some hashbrowns I had bought in bulk. I also made this in a big casserole dish so added onion soup and mushroom soup. My kids and picky husband loved it! I will make this again with boiled potatoes next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I have made this recipe for years to rave reviews, with a couple of adjustments. I always put in a 2 lb. bag of hash browns instead of the 1 lb. that is called for here. Also I use cream of celery or cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of potato. Finally I add the crushed corn flakes mixed with a little butter on top to give it a little crispy topping and this is my holiday potato recipe. The best part is that it can be made ahead of time, like the day before (keep refrigerated), which is a big plus at holidays. Just don't put the crushed corn flakes/butter on top until ready to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
this is an awesome casserole! i made this for easter today and everyone devoured it. Add some fresh snipped herbs (i did dill and rosemary) and some white pepper and it's delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Oh man these were good. We actually doubled the recipe and used fresh cut yellow potatoes (skins on) and they were fabulous. It perfectly fills a 9X13 doubled, you will just need to cut them small bite size and cook just a tad longer. Thank you for submitting this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamthevintagelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States