Cheezy Macaroni and Little Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
The onion was a littel bit much. I would use garlic powder instead, in a smaller quantity. My children LOVED this...even the super-picky 8-year old! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was very good. I didn't have frozen carrots so I used canned and it still turned out fine. I also added a dash of garlic and onion powder in place of the minced onion. This dish made a lot so make sure you have a few mouths to feed if you make this, next time I'll half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbermuffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA
Living In: Quincy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This was very easy & my kids really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Creative use of mac and cheese, thanks! I took a shortcut and used a boxed mix of mac and cheese, so I modified the directions a bit. I boiled the noodles and carrots together & drained and then put the onion (and garlic--had to add that) and little smokies in with the mix from the box and the milk and butter, fried that for a minute, then mixed it all together. It worked just fine. I do prefer homemade mac and cheese, but when you have 20 boxes of the storebought it's hard to justify making it from scratch until the boxes are gone! I like the add ins to normal mac and cheese. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
It was good. My mom always made homemade mac 'n cheese with just velveeta, butter, and milk, but I never liked it. Nowadays, if I make it homemade, I use various cheeses (cojack, cheddar, etc.). This was really good though. I had fresh carrots that I boiled for a bit before putting it in the cheese mixture. I used onion powder and garlic powder rather than flakes, which I don't have anyways. I added some of the carrot water to the cheese mixture. I used cheddar, extra sharp cheddar, and generic velveeta. After two of us eating this (technically 3 I guess since I'm prego), there was A LOT leftover. I'm a VERY pick 23-year old and wasn't sure about the carrot thing. I'm glad I tried it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aswan10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My son loved it so I think that's a plus but the grease from the cheese and lil smokies was extremely over powering for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edubird

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
My kids love mac and cheese and little smokies, so I thought this would be the perfect recipe to sneak in a veggie! They loved it so much, they didn't even mind the carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Instead of processed cheese, I like to used shredded sharp cheddar instead. I also like to add a little hot sauce. If you don't have Lil' Smokies, this is just as good with sliced all beef hot dogs. My kids inhale this whenever I make it--I don't usually make it for the grownups, this is usually best made when you've got kids over for a sleepover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I halved the recipe but used the whole package of lil smokies. Sour cream, mixed frozen veggies in place of milk and carrots and some ground mustard. It looked a little juvenile when I put it on the table, but my husband loved it. Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Mac and Cheese

Make rich, creamy macaroni and cheese on the stovetop.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Four-Cheese Macaroni

Watch how to make this top-rated macaroni and cheese recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States